Literatures in English: Book Reviews

Comprehensive index to book reviews from both scholarly and popular periodicals.

The most comprehensive index of book reviews, it includes more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications, including refereed journals, general interest publications, and newspapers. It includes the entire backfile from the original print edition of Book Review Index, which dates back to 1965. Book Review Index Online is searchable by author of book reviewed, title of book reviewed, publication date, reviewer, title of review, review length, journal, refereed publications, and reading level.

Dates of Coverage: 1965-

Extensive information about children's books, video and audio recordings and other children-focused media. The CLCD presently contains more than 1,400,000 catalog records in MARC format that have children's headings assigned.

This database contains more than 130,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. Search for specific subjects, titles, authors, and see the associated reviews, prepare annotated lists/bibliographies, identify reading levels, and link to author/illustrator sites and curriculum tools.

An index to articles (many full-text, online) in hundreds of literary magazines and scholarly journals in the arts, history, literature, philosophy, and religion.

Humanities International Complete is an index to articles (many full-text, online) in scholarly journals and literary magazines. Provides very good coverage of little magazines and literary reviews and, for 2000- , for scholarly journals in the humanities (history, literature, philosophy, and religion). Incorporates coverage formerly provided by the American Humanities Index (published by Whitston, 1975-2005).

English language, full-text news sources, and foreign language news. On the Search News Tab select Book, Movie, Music, Play, and Video Reviews under the Sources pull-down menu for reviews.

Online compilation of Gale Literary Criticism Series. Provides access to criticism (excerpts or full-text) published from an author's own time to the present as well as biographical information and some historical context.

The criticism includes scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and journals. Includes three collections: Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Short Story Criticism.
Dates of Coverage: Varies

Full-text journal articles, criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.

Updated continuously

Full text of the complete run of the New York Times, 1851-three years ago.

Full text of the complete run of New York Times from 1851 to three years ago, with page images, individual articles, ads, and illustrationss in downloadable PDF. It includes, and is searchable by, display and classified ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials, obituaries, and commentary, as well as articles.
Dates of coverage: 1851-three years from the present.
Updated: Varies

Indexing for hundreds of newspapers with some full text.
Coverage: Varies by paper.

Provides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national and international newspapers, selected articles from over 260 regional U.S. papers, and some television and radio news transcripts, in addition to indexing for a far larger number of papers.

General-interest periodicals.

Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes 375 general-interest magazines and periodicals published in the United States. Although some scholarly publications are covered, the main focus of Readers' Guide is popular publications.
Dates of coverage: 1890-1982.
Updated: No.

Complete digital edition of The Times (London) including all articles, advertisements and illustrations, and photos.