Literatures in English: Find Articles

An index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric) starting with 1926.

An index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Works exclusively on classical Greek and Latin literatures are excluded. EBSCO coverage starts with 1926; the print edition starts with 1921. See also Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.

Dates of Coverage: 1926-present
Updated: Ten times a year

An index to articles (many full-text, online) in hundreds of literary magazines and scholarly journals in the arts, history, literature, philosophy, and religion. Humanities International Complete is an index to articles (many full-text, online) in scholarly journals and literary magazines. Provides very good coverage of little magazines and literary reviews and, for 2000- , for scholarly journals in the humanities (history, literature, philosophy, and religion). Incorporates coverage formerly provided by the American Humanities Index (published by Whitston, 1975-2005).

Caribbean Search is a multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region. The collection contains hundreds of Caribbean focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports, and reference books.

Index, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media. Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).

Doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The authoritative bibliographic record for doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Dissertations can be purchased from UMI or are available for download at a price, but you can usually also borrow them for free through Interlibrary Loan.

Indexes over 600 journals and provides full-text access to some conference papers and reports. You can find articles about literacy issues and teaching the English language. The ERIC collection includes bibliographic records, with extensive abstracts, for more than 1.2 million items indexed since 1966, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. ERIC currently indexes more than 600 journals. In addition, contributors have given ERIC permission to display more than 115,000 full-text materials in PDF format - at no charge. These materials are generally part of the recent "grey literature" such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. Older ERIC documents that are not free on the web are available on microfiche, but must be recalled from storage.

Dates of coverage: 1966-present
Updated: Monthly

Essay & General Literature Index offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise inaccessible. This database unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies and features content in a wide array of fields including archaeology, architecture, classical studies, drama, folklore, political science, psychology, religion, women’s studies and more.

Primary source social science and Humanities scholarly journals since 1907. An index to articles in scholarly humanities and social science journals from 1907-1985, this provides very good author and subject indexing of the most important journals in these fields. Combines the indexing of International Index (1907-1965), the Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1965-74), Humanities Index (1974-85), and Social Sciences Index (1974-85).

Dates of coverage: 1907-1984.
Updated: No.

Database for resources about the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. ITER is an extensive database of journals and books pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Included are references to drama, texts and some primary sources.

Dates of coverage: 400-1700
Updated: Daily

LLBA indexes research in theoretical and applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, and speech therapy. LLBA indexes research in theoretical and applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, and speech therapy published in scholarly journals, monographs, conference proceedings, and web sites. Besides allowing advanced searching in several fields, LLBA uses a thesaurus of standardized terminology.

Dates of Coverage: 1973-present

Online compilation of Gale Literary Criticism Series. Provides access to criticism (excerpts or full-text) published from an author's own time to the present as well as biographical information and some historical context.

Full-text journal articles, criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world. Updated continuously

19th century British and American books, periodicals, newspapers, and documents. Includes Archives USA. C19 indexes a wide range of 19th-century British and American books, periodicals, newspapers and other documents such as British Parliamentary papers. C19 also includes Archives USA, an index to archival repositories and description of their collections. With the exception of journals in the American Periodicals series, C19 does not provide links to full-text articles.

Dates of coverage: 1801-1900 (and beyond in some cases).

General-interest periodicals. Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes 375 general-interest magazines and periodicals published in the United States. Although some scholarly publications are covered, the main focus of Readers' Guide is popular publications.

Dates of coverage: 1890-1982.
Updated: No.

This comprehensive series includes classic and current literary criticism of the world’s most-studied literature. Edited and written by literary scholars, it provides authoritative, in-depth scholarship. Each volume in the series focuses on an individual author’s entire body of work or on a single work of literature. There are sections for cultural and historical context, close readings, critical theory, critical reception, and a compare and contrast feature. Each work includes a chronology, a bibliography, and a subject index.

Full-text access to backfiles of select scholarly periodicals in the Arts, Business, Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences.

Project MUSE offers full text, affordable access to current content from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.