Literatures in English: Folklore and Mythology
Databases and Indices
- Motif Index of Folk Literature This link opens in a new windowIdentifies motifs, such as characters, actions, or events, in folk literature.
Based on the work of Stith Thompson, this Motif Index classifies and indexes motifs (such as characters, actions, or events) in folk literature. Use the Motif Index to identify published books of folk literature in which the motifs appear. Topf find scholarly articles and books about folk literature, use the MLA International Bibliography. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric) starting with 1926.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMain database of scholarly literature in Sociology and related fields.
Online Reference Books
- Black Short Fiction and FolkloreA full-text collection of short stories, fables, and folklore from African, African-American, and Caribbean authors.
- Creation Myths of Primitive America2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Dictionary of African MythologyKing Library (2nd floor) | BL2400 .S24 2000
Collection of synopses of tales from African mythology, covering the entire continent. - Dictionary of Asian MythologyKing Library (2nd floor) | BL1005 .L46 2001
Entries address the key mythologies of India, China, Tibet, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, and Japan, with broad overviews of specific cultures and their mythic traditions. - Dictionary of Celtic MythologySurvey of Celtic mythology, legend, saga, and folklore, covering people, themes, concepts, places, and creatures, from both ancient and modern traditions.
- Dictionary of Chicano Folklore2000, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Dictionary of English FolkloreKing Reference (Ground Floor) | GR141 .S573 2000
Entries on ancient folk customs, such as well dressing and harvest festivals, but also on photocopylore, the Tooth Fairy and the folklore of sex. - Dictionary of Native American Mythology1992, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Dictionary of SuperstitionsKing Library (2nd floor) | BF1775 .D53 1989
Dictionary covering the wide range of folk beliefs that have survived into our own age. - Dictionary of World MythologyPresents information on the gods of Greece, Rome, and Scandinavia, the more mystical deities of Buddhist and Hindu India, and the spirits of the African and American continents.
- Encyclopedia of Creation Myths1994, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Cente
- Encyclopedia of Folk Heroes2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Encyclopedia of Folk Medicine: Old World and New World Traditions2004, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature1998, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman Mythology1998, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Encyclopedia of Russian & Slavic Myth and Legend1998, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Encyclopedia of Urban Legends2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- English Fairy Tales and More English Fairy Tales2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Cente
- Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art1997, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Folktales from Northern India2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Giants, Monsters, and Dragons: An Encyclopedia of Folklore, Legend, and Myth2000, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Goddesses in World Mythology1993, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Guide to the Gods1992, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Handbook of Egyptian Mythology2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Handbook of Hindu Mythology2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Handbook of Inca Mythology2004, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Handbook of Japanese Mythology2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Cente
- Handbook of Mesoamerican Mythology2000, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Handbook of Norse Mythology2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Italian Popular Tales2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs2000, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Mysterious Creatures: A Guide to Cryptozoology2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Mythical West: An Encyclopedia of Legend, Lore, and Popular Culture2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Mythical Zoo: An Encyclopedia of Animals in World Myth, Legend, & Literature2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Myths gods & fantasy1991, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Nectar & Ambrosia: An Encyclopedia of Food in World Mythology2000, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Old Deccan Days or Hindoo Fairy Legends2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Oxford Companion to World MythologyKing Reference (Ground Floor) | BL312 .L44 2005Essays on the world's major mythological traditions, retellings of some better-known myths, and entries on mythological types, motifs, and figures.
- Popular Stories of Ancient Egypt2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Popular Tales and Fictions: Their Migrations and Transformations2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- UFOs and Popular Culture: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Myth2000, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Cente
- Voyages in Classical Mythology1994, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Women of Classical Mythology: A Biographical Dictionary1991, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Websites
- American Folklife CenterThe collections in the Center's Archive of Folk Culture include folk cultural material from all fifty states, as well as United States trusts, territories, and the District of Columbia. Most of these areas have been served by the American Folklife Center's cultural surveys, equipment loan program, publications, and other projects.
- American Folklore SocietyThe American Folklore Society is an association of people who study and communicate knowledge about folklore throughout the world. Our more than 2,200 members and subscribers are scholars, teachers, and libraries at colleges and universities; professionals in arts and cultural organizations; and community members involved in folklore work. Many of our members live and work in the US, but their interests in folklore stretch around the world, and today about one in every eight AFS members is from
- Open FolkloreOpen Folklore is a collaboration of the American Folklore Society, the Indiana University Libraries, and the IU Digital Library Program. It builds on the new developments in digital circulation of folklore materials to respond to these troubling access and preservation problems. We will work with rights holders to make books and journals, including those that have already been digitized, fully and openly available online. We will support the publication of existing and new journals in folklore with an open-access publishing platform. We will digitize older grey literature, and educational materials produced by public folklore programs, and will provide digital preservation for such resources and publications that are “born digital.” We will select and digitally archive websites of public and academic folklore programs (with their permission). We will provide an online tool that will offer searching of all of the above classes of material while filtering out unreliable sources.
- SurLaLune Fairy TalesSurLaLune Fairy Tales features 49 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures, modern interpretations and over 1,500 illustrations.
- World Oral Literature ProjectAffiliated with the University of Cambridge Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, the World Oral Literature Project is a new repository and clearinghouse for oral literature projects and collections worldwide. Oral literature is defined as performances of "ritual texts, curative chants, epic poems, musical genres, folk tales, creation tales, songs, myths, spells, legends, proverbs, riddles, tongue-twisters, word games, recitations, life histories or historical narratives." Since 2009, the proj
Featured Books
Eye of Newt and Toe of Frog, Adder's Fork and Lizard's Leg by Call Number: QL644 .C73 2015ebISBN: 022611600XPublication Date: 2015-11-01Note: e-book format, 1 simultaneous user
Fairy Tale by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN3437 .T46 2013ISBN: 0415616050Publication Date: 2013
First Light: a history of creation myths from Gilgamesh to the God-particle by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | BL325.C7 E9 2014ISBN: 1780761554Publication Date: 2013
Folklore Recycled: old traditions in new contexts by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | GR105 .D42 2013ISBN: 1617037648Publication Date: 2013
Legends and Lost Treasure of Northern Ohio by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | F491.6 .K65 2014ISBN: 1626192405Publication Date: 2014
Revisioning Red Riding Hood Around the World by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | GR75.L56 B434 2014ISBN: 0814334792Publication Date: 2013
Spellbound: the fairy tale and the Victorians by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PR878.F27 H55 2014ISBN: 081421245XPublication Date: 2014
Stories about Stories: fantasy and the remaking of myth by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN56.F34 A88 2014ISBN: 0199316066Publication Date: 2014
