Literatures in English: Home

Best Bets

This guide is designed to support research on literatures in English. The tabs at the side of the screen organize research tools into categories, while the links below provide quick access to the most commonly used reference resources in this area.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the Modern Language Association, the MLA Bibliography is the usual starting-point for research in literature in English and other modern languages. It contains citation information about articles and books published in scholarly sources about literature, linguistics, and literary theory. Some (but not all) articles listed in the MLA Bibliography are available in full-text directly through the MLA Bibliography.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (or OED) is an authoritative historical dictionary of the English Language, and includes information about the changing meanings of word over time. The OED also includes information about word origins (etymology), and definitions of words that have fallen out of use.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (M.U. only)
Contains biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to people who died during or before the year 2005.

Quick Links

This guide is designed to support research on literature in English. The tabs at the side of the screen organize the information into workable categories.

Select from the following areas: