Literatures in English: Find Books
Related Book Resources
See also the Online Literary Materials section of this guide, to find books from particular periods, places, and groups of people.
Library Catalogs
These tools can be used to locate and access print and ebooks from the Miami Libraries and to request print books from other institutions.
- Miami University Libraries CatalogStart with the "Books & More" tab to find books that you can check out at Miami University.
- OhioLINKIf Miami University doesn't own the book you need, you might be able to request it through OhioLINK from a participating library in Ohio.
- WorldCatIf you can't find a book you need at Miami University or through OhioLINK, check to see what other libraries might have it.
- Interlibrary LoanYou can then order a copy from that library through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
Outside Resources
- The Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.
- HathiTrustFounded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
- Google BooksA project of Google LLC, Google Books contains searchable scanned images of millions of books.
Online Book Collections
This list is a mixture of secondary and primary source collections. You may also want to look at the Online Collections and Reference tabs for more titles.
- American & English Literature CollectionPoetry, drama, and prose. OhioLINK Collection.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowDigital images of every page of 150,000 English-language titles covering all subjects, published between 1701 and 1800 in the United Kingdom and the Americas (including foreign-language titles printed in the U.K.).
- Oxford Academic This link opens in a new windowCollection of more than 5,000 e-books from Oxford University Press in the humanities and social sciences. Each book and each chapter within each book has an abstract and assigned subject headings, and everything is searchable and printable.
Want to Browse?
Sometimes you may just want to browse an area of the library to see what books are available. Most of the books related to the study of English will be in the "P" section on the second floor of King. Remember though that some books might be checked out or will be in our Southwest Ohio Regional Depository.
Here's a breakdown of the areas:
PN---Literature history and collections (General)
Tip: this range includes a wide selection of topics, from literary criticism (PN80-99) to comic books and strips (PN6700-6790).
PQ---Romance literature
PR---English literature
PS---American literature
PT---Teutonic literatures
PZ---Fiction and juvenile literatures