Literatures in English: Graphic Novels
Tips for Searching for Graphic Novels and Comics in our Collection
You will find graphic novels and comics (and books about them) scattered throughout our collection. Some likely places include the circulating collection on the second floor of King in the P section, the folios (over-sized books) on the second floor of King, the Instructional Material Center on the ground floor of King, Special Collections, the Wertz Art and Architecture Library at Alumni Hall, and our branch campus libraries. When you find a relevant book in our catalog, pay careful attention to the location.
The names for these kinds of works can vary greatly (graphic novels, comics, comix, sequential art, etc.). You may need to try more than one term for what you are looking for. One helpful subject heading is:
Two relevant call number ranges are:
PN6700-6790=Comic books, strips, etc.
NC1300-1766=Pictorial humor, caricature, etc.
Plus check out these tips for finding scholarly literature on graphic novels from Columbia University Libraries.
New Graphic Novels and Comics in the Collection
Shoplifter by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN6733.C58 S56 2014ISBN: 030791173XPublication Date: 2014-09-02
Seconds by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN6733.O43 S43 2014ISBN: 0345529375Publication Date: 2014
New School by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN6727.S4925 N49 2013ISBN: 1606996444Publication Date: 2013
March by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | E840.8.L43 A3 2013 v.1ISBN: 1603093001Publication Date: 2013
Mark Twain was right : the 2001 Cincinnati riots by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN6727.M667 M37 2012ISBN: 1934620211Publication Date: 2012-09-26
Blue Is the Warmest Color by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN6747.M36 B5413 2013ISBN: 1551525143Publication Date: 2013
Co-Mix: a retrospective of comics, graphics, and scraps by Call Number: King Folio | PN6727.S65 A6 2013ISBN: 1770461140Publication Date: 2013
The Love and Rockets Companion: 30 years (and counting) by Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | PN6728.L678 L68 2013ISBN: 1606995790Publication Date: 2013-07-23
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
- Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic NovelsPrimary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.
Websites
- Anime News NetworkAnime News Network was created as a news source that focuses on the medium of Japanese Animation(anime) and Japanese Comics (manga). ANN was founded by Justin Sevakis in July of 1998, and has since lead the online anime news medium with a tradition of strong unbiased coverage of major breaking news. With in-depth coverage, analysis and commentary to provide insight into the world of anime and manga, ANN has been and continues to be the #1 English language source for anime and manga news.
- Artbomb.netArtbomb's mission is to promote diverse and sophisticated graphic novels. A more impressive array of graphic novels has never before been available for English reading audiences. And we want to get them into your hands.
- Cartoon Image DatabaseThe Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum's digital image database contains scanned images from OSU's collection. Search here to see existing scans; however, keep in mind that this is only a small portion of the total collection. Some images are scanned from the original art while others are scanned from newspaper tear sheets or other printed sources. Requests for digital images must be accompanied by a Digital Request Form available on OSU's website.
- Comic Book Legal Defense FundFounded in 1986 as a 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of First Amendment rights for members of the comics community.
- Comics NexusIncludes news and reviews
- Grand Comics DatabaseAn ongoing international project to build a detailed comic-book database that will be easy to use and understand, and also easy for contributors to add information to it. This fully searchable and sortable database includes information on creator credits, story details, and other information useful to the comic-book reader, fan, collector, and scholar.
- Manga LifeIt's the newest offshoot of Silver Bullet Comics, dedicated to MANGA news, reviews and features. When SBC decided to cover manga, we decided that rather than just dedicate a small portion of the website to it, it needed to be done properly - a fully fledged, 100% manga site, with dedicated writers. Our aim is to guide you through the masses of manga appearing on the shelves of your book store, to pick out THE essential books to own.
- National Association of Comic Art EducatorsTeachingcomics.org is the homepage of NACAE (pronounced "nay-say"), the National Association of Comics Art Educators. This site's objective is to be a resource where the growing number of educators in comic art/sequential art can get and share ideas. It is also hoped that educators who work in other disciplines can use comics as a way of furthering their own objectives
- NewsaramaSource for daily comics news, reviews, previews, and commentary
- Sequential TartA publication dedicated to providing exclusive interviews, in-depth articles and news, while working towards raising the awareness of women's influence in the comics industry and other realms.
Special Collections and Museums
- Belgian Comic Strip Center, BrusselsIn a masterpiece of Art Nouveau designed by Victor Horta (1906),the Belgian Comic Strip Center brings together everything related to the comic strip,from its prestigious beginnings to its most recent developments, on more than 4,000 square metres of museum floors.
- Cartoon Art Museum, San FranciscoFrom editorial cartoons to comic books, graphic novels to anime, Sunday funnies to Saturday morning cartoons, the Cartoon Art Museum has something for everyone.
- Cartoon Library and Museum, Ohio State UniversityThe Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum's primary mission is to develop a comprehensive research collection documenting American printed cartoon art, to organize the materials, and to provide access to these resources.
- La Cite Internationale de la Bande Dessinee et de l'ImageThe web site of a center in Angouleme, France, which includes a museum, research library, and bookstore. The museum is the primary French museum of comic art.
- Comic Art Collection, Michigan State UniversityThe Comic Art Collection holds over 200,000 items. Most of these items are comic books, but also included are over 1,000 books of collected newspaper comic strips, and several thousand books and periodicals about comics.
- Edwin and Terry Murphy Comic Book Collection, Duke UniversityThe Murray comic collection is notable for its size, depth, and comprehensive holdings of Marvel and DC comics from the mid-1960s to 2001. Most major American genres are represented, including superhero, crime, sci-fi, western, romance, funny animal, biography, humor, war, and horror.
- Library of Congress, Serial and Government Publications, Popular Culture CollectionThe largest collection of comics books in the United States is housed in the Serial and Government Publications Division. The collection includes U.S. and foreign comic books—over 5,000 titles in all, totaling more than 100,000 issues. Primarily composed of the original print books, the collection includes color microfiche of a handful of the early comic books (such as Wonder Woman, Superman, and Action Comics) and special reprints.
- Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art (MoCCA), NYCThe purpose of the Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art is the collection, preservation, study, education, and display of comic and cartoon art. Every genre of the art is represented: animation, anime, cartoons, comic books, comic strips, gag cartoons, humorous illustration, illustration, political illustration, editorial cartoons, caricature, graphic novels, sports cartoons, and computer-generated art.
Reference Books about Graphic Novels and Comics
Booker, M. Keith. Encyclopedia of Comic Books and Graphic Novels. 2 volumes. King Reference PN6707 .E49 2010
Gaumer, Patrick. Dictionnaire Mondial de la Bande Dessinée. King Reference PN6707 .G39 1998
Horn, Maurice. The World Encyclopedia of Comics. 7 volumes. King Reference PN6710 .W6 1998
Kannenberg, Gene, Jr. 500 Essential Graphic Novels: The Ultimate Guide. King Reference PN6710 .K35 2008
Pawuk, Michael. Graphic Novels: A Genre Guide to Comic Books, Manga, and More. King Reference PN6710 .P38 2007
Pendergast, Tom, and Sara Pendergast. U-X-L Graphic Novelists. King Reference NC1305 .P46 2007