Architecture and Interior Design: Case Studies

Case studies in books

The library has many books about specific architects as well as books on particular works by architects or firms. Try searching in the library's main catalog for an architect's name.

All books related to architecture and interior design are in the basement of Alumni Hall, in these call number ranges

N - Fine Arts books
     N - Visual Arts
     NA - Architecture
     NB - Sculpture
     NC - Drawing, Design, Illustration
     ND - Painting
     NE - Print Media
     NK - Decorative Arts (inc. ID)
     NX - Arts in General

SB - Landscape Architecture

T - Technology
     TH - Building Construction
     TR - Photography
     TT - Handicratfts, Arts & Crafts

Case studies in periodicals

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The best, most comprehensive database for finding information in journals and magazines specifically about architecture. Use the "physical description" limiter to help you find elevations, sections, site plans, interiors, etc
It indexes journal articles from over 2500 periodicals worldwide, and covers many publications not indexed in any other source, including literature from professional associations, regional periodicals, and book and exhibition reviews.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database and full texts of journal articles.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles from major art and architecture periodicals.
Coverage is broad and includes art history, architecture, advertising, archaeology, crafts, fine arts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, jewelry, film, and photography. This database also cites art reproductions used to illustrate articles or advertisements. full-text is available for selected journals starting from 1997. Abstracts available for articles published after 1994. Citations indexed from 1929-present. Art full-text continues Art Abstracts and Art Index.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Journal index of over 600 major art and architecture periodicals.
Feature articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, editorials, reproduction of works of art, notices of competitions and awards and letters to the editor are indexed. Subjects covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, crafts, and much more.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of hundreds of periodicals and books, as well indexing and abstracts for nearly a thousand academic journals, magazines, trade publications, and books.
Also provides selective coverage for additional publications and an immense Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others. Full-text coverage dates back to 1937.

US Modernist Library
The world's largest open digital collection of major US 20th-century architecture magazines with approximately 2.7 million downloadable pages - all free to access.

Specific periodicals with good case studies

These periodicals contain a number of case studies. You can find specific articles using Avery Index (above), or you can browse these:

GA Document
ArtArch Periodical NA680 .G32x
Focus on 20th-21st century architecture. International scope.
GA Houses
ArtArch Periodical NA7126 .G13
Focus on housing case studies. 20th-21st century, international.

Where is the article?

Click "Find it!" to see if we have the full text of the article in print or online.

Last Updated: Oct 3, 2024 11:32 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/architecture
Print Page

Subjects: Art and Architecture