Architecture and Interior Design: ARC 636
Major research databases
This is a list to get you started. Each database has its strenghts and weaknesses. Use ALL RELEVANT SOURCES. Don't limit yourself to what you find in once source.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThe best, most comprehensive database for finding information in journals and magazines specifically about architecture. Use the "physical description" limiter to help you find elevations, sections, site plans, interiors, etc.
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of many major art and architecture periodicals. For architecture, there is a large overlap with Avery Index (Avery is more complete), but this database also indexes art periodicals, so if you are doing something interdisciplinary with art, this is a good place to start.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text backfiles of select scholarly periodicals in the Arts, Business, Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences. Very major resource for art & architectural historians.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowBuild maps with demographic, business, lifestyles, and marketing data variables
Thesis Research
Architectural research employs many different methodologies. This book outlines several of them:
Architectural Research Methods
Linda Groat and David Wang
Call #: ArtArch Reference | NA2000 .G76 2013
Architectural research is often interdisciplinary. Depending on your topic, you may wish to consider looking in databases or research guides outside the field of architecture. Below are some examples of other subject guides, but you can find a full list of other subject guides here: http://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/
- AnthropologyEthnographic research, cultural studies, etc.
- GeographyMigration, population studies, mapping, etc
- Government Information & DocumentsPolicy, documents, laws, bills, and an enormous amount of stuff published by the US Government and other governmental agencies (some international)
- PsychologyResearch on human response to environment and stimuli, human development, identity, learning, and cognitive/sensory/affective disabilities
Find Theses and Dissertations
Previous Miami University M.Arch theses are in the library, along the wall near the elevator.
M.Arch theses are based on the paper submission format for the Association for Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) conference. Proceedings from this conference are also in the library, along the wall near the elevator.
- Miami Scholarly CommonsMiami University M.Arch theses from 2010
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new windowAbstracts (but not full-text) of dissertations and theses from around the world. Full-text should be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open This link opens in a new windowProvides the full-text of open access dissertations and theses from around the world by authors who have opted to publish them as open access.
- Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center This link opens in a new windowDoctoral dissertations and masters theses from OhioLINK institutions. Dissertations and theses are added to the database as they are approved by the departments accepting them. To find dissertations you can browse by author's last name and by institution/department, or search by author, title, subject, or keyword.
- Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to electronic theses and dissertations from around the world.
Citing your Sources
Theses for the Dept of Architecture should use the Chicago style for citations, with endnotes and bibliography.
Online version of the 17th edition (MU catalog)
Here are some examples of Chicago style:
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide from the publisher
From Purdue Online Writing Lab
Check out the libraries' Citing Your Sources page for additional tools, videos, and tips.
Citation Management
Citation and bibliographic management programs. Lets you track citations and articles, make notes, upload files, highlight, etc. The three main options are Endnote Web, Zotero, and Mendeley.
All three work a little differently, but the principles are the same. Spend a few minutes to look at their videos (about 2-5 minutes each) and see if any of them work for you.