Architecture and Interior Design: ARC 105

This course page will help you find information about contemporary architects.  These other tabs may also be helpful to you in this class:

• Find Books: Links to various catalogs, and explanation of the call numbers in the Art/Arch library.  Hints of how to maximize your use of the online catalog
• Find Articles: Links to online databases that will help you find journal articles.  Information about how to tell if a journal is peer-reviewed/scholarly.
• Reference: Books and resources that can give you a quick overview of architects and topics

You can find basic information about many contemporary architects in one of these reference books (upstairs on the first floor):

• Contemporary Architects (ArtArch Ref: NA 680 .C625 1994)
  Good source of biographical information on many architects.  Includes a list of works and a brief bibliography.
• 1000 Architects (ArtArch Ref: NA50 .A73 2003, 2 volumes)
  Lists major architects and some firms that aren't listed elsewhere.
• Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture:  (ArtArch Ref: NA680 .E495 2004)
  Another good source of biographical information

There are also several series of books that feature different contemporary architects in each issue (downstairs in the basement):

• Architecture and Urbanism (A + U):  NA1 .A1 A731
  Individual architects, themes, topics.  Includes good case studies, plans, photos, drawings, and examples of major works.
• Process:  NA1 .A1 P761
  Individual architects, themes, topics.  Case studies, plans, photos, drawings.
• GA Document:  NA680 .G32x
  Individual architects, architectural firms, buidlings.  Features recent designs and buildings.  Case studies, plans, photos, etc.
• GA Houses:  NA7126 .G13
  Focuses on new residential designs.  Some retrospective issues on major works.

Need a general overview or biography?  Try these resources:

• Oxford Art Online:  Comprehensive online art, architecture, and design encyclopedia.  Includes some bibliographies and images.
• Biography Resource Center:  Good source of biographical information, sometimes with bibliographies

Want to find if a book has been published about an architect?

• Search the architect's name in the Miami Library Catalog.
• If we don't own the book, try it in the OhioLINK Catalog.

Want more in-depth scholarship about an architect, or a case study in a journal?  Try these resources:

• Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
• JSTOR