Architecture and Interior Design: UNV 101
All Architecture Indexes and Databases
These are all of the online indexes and databases that the library subscribes to that may relate to architecture. For resources specific to architectural history or to images, please see the sub-pages listed to the left.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index of articles from architectural journals and magazines. Oxford users only.
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of periodicals and books related to art and architecture.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles in academic journals. The most recent 5 years of content is often unavailable.
- Environment CompleteUseful database for searching for sustainability. This is not an architecture database, so put "architecture" or "design" in the keyword search.
- US Modernist LibraryThe world's largest open digital collection of major US 20th-century architecture magazines with approximately 2.7 million downloadable pages - all free to access.
- Art Full TextArticles from art periodicals, museum bulletins, and other arts publications. Includes journal articles on architecture and interior design, as well as art history, graphic design, photography, film, etc
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of international journals, books, theses, and exhibitions on modern and contemporary art, with some architecture. Sources include journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtArticles and scholarly writing on Western art from antiquity to present. Subject coverage includes fine arts, decorative and applied arts, industrial design and architecture, and popular and folk art. Last updated in December 2009.
- Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD)PCAD includes a range of information on the buildings and architects of California, Oregon and Washington. Also included are professionals in other fields who have made an impact on the built environment, such as landscape architects, interior designers, engineers, urban planners, developers, and building contractors. Building records are tied to those of their creators (when known) and include historical and geographical information and images. Bibliographical information, such as magazine and book citations and web sites, has also been linked for creators and their partnerships and structures.
Journals
- Architectural Record (1998 - Present)1975 - Present available in hardcopy at Art/Arch.
Where is the article?
Click on the "Find it!" icon to find more information about where to get the actual article once you find it in an index or database.
If the article is available online, you will see a link to it.
If the article is available in print, you will see a library location (e.g. King Library) and a call number. Go to that library's periodicals section and look up the call number. Make sure you write down the volume, issue, and year of your article before you go.
If no copies are available, click on the link that says "InterLibrary Loan Options." Click on "Journal Article" and fill out the info. We will try to find the article for you and mail or email it to you.
