Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering: MME 451 / 551 | Sustainability in Design
Miami Sustainability Resources
Identifying Keywords
This is a three step process, which begins with articulating your topic in a few sentences, then breaking it down to main concepts, from which you’ll devise related terms.
| Describe your topic in a few sentences |
| Main concept 1 | Main concept 2 | Main concept 3 |
| Synonyms / related terms for main concept 1 | Synonyms / related terms for main concept 2 | Synonyms / related terms for main concept 3 |
You now have keywords to start searching with, which can be combined in different ways to pull up results relevant to your research. You might discover additional terms during your searching.
Database Recommendations
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowUse Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Databases can be searched together or separate. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowAccess and search Compendex, Geobase, and Knovel databases here. Engineering Village takes engineering research to the next level with a comprehensive database that includes the most authoritative engineering resources available to answer today’s most timely questions—from theoretical to applied, and basic to complex.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowEnvironment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
Reforestation Group Resources
Suggested keywords for getting started
- reforestation
- agroforestry
- trees
- vegetation
- carbon dioxide
- CO2
- carbon sequestration
- plant absorption
- mitigation
- climate change
- urban
- city
- urban landscape
- neutrality
- North America
- Appalachia
- Ohio
These articles are just to get you started on the topic. You'll need to do more searching for your project.
Reforestation in general
- Bernal, B et al. (2018) ‘Global carbon dioxide removal rates from forest landscape restoration activities’, Carbon Balance and Management, 13(1), pp. 1–13. doi:10.1186/s13021-018-0110-8.
- Fares, S. et al. (2020) ‘Testing Removal of Carbon Dioxide, Ozone, and Atmospheric Particles by Urban Parks in Italy’, Environmental Science & Technology, 54(23), pp. 14910–14922. doi:10.1021/acs.est.0c04740.
- Mardiatmoko, G. et al. (2020) 'The rate of absorption of carbon dioxide and moisture content in Linggua (Pterocarpus indicus willd.) for climate change management', Ecology, Environment and Conservation, 26, pp. S415-S422. ISSN: 0971765X.
- Mitsch, W.J. et al. (2014) ‘Validation of the ecosystem services of created wetlands: Two decades of plant succession, nutrient retention, and carbon sequestration in experimental riverine marshes’, Ecological Engineering, 72, pp. 11–24. doi:10.1016/j.ecoleng.2014.09.108.
- Santori, G. et al. (2018) ‘Adsorption artificial tree for atmospheric carbon dioxide capture, purification and compression’, Energy, 162, pp. 1158–1168. doi:10.1016/j.energy.2018.08.090.
Urban reforestation
- Abbate, S. et al. (2021) ‘Carbon uptake dynamics associated to the management of unused lands for urban CO2 planning’, Renewable Energy, 178, pp. 946–959. doi:10.1016/j.renene.2021.06.124.
- Brilli, L. et al. (2022) ‘An integrated approach to estimate how much urban afforestation can contribute to move towards carbon neutrality’, Science of the Total Environment, 842. doi:10.1016/j.scitotenv.2022.156843.
- Chaurasia, S. et al. (2022) 'Carbon Sequestration Potential of Urban Trees: A Case of Kolar Area in Bhopal City, India', Journal of The Institution of Engineers (India): Series A, 103(2), pp. 359-374. doi: 10.1007/s40030-022-00621-9.
- Robbins, R. (2021) ‘A Growing Need: Increasing Agricultural and Urban Forestation to Combat Climate Change’, Vermont Journal of Environmental Law, 22(2), pp. 69–102. Available at: https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eih&AN=151793313&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Specific to Ohio
- Guy, E. and Levine N. (2001) 'GIS modeling and analysis of Ohio's CO2 budget: Mitigating CO2 emissions through reforestation', Ohio Journal of Science, 101(3-4), pp. 34-41.
- Tree Search | U.S. Forest ServiceContains citations to journal articles, as well as government and technical reports.
- Morton Arboretum | Search Trees and PlantsTheir site allows you to search with keywords, names, or attributes to view detailed tree and plant information compiled by Arboretum experts. The arboretum is located in Illinois.
- Holden Arboretum | Nature ProfilesThrough browsing or searching, locate a description of plants and trees. The arboretum is located near Cleveland Ohio.
Electrical Energy and Mechanical Devices Group Resources
Suggested keywords for getting started
- battery or batteries
- mechanical device
- pump
- heat pump
- storage
- containment
- energy
- electrical energy
- electrolysis
Bio-plastics Group Resources
Main concepts and suggested keywords for getting started
- raw material
- Naptha
- ethane
- gas oil
- sugarcane
- bioplastic
- petropowder
- cracking and polymerization
- Naptha
- ethane
- gas oil
- production cost
- commercialized cost
- Recycling and EOL
- degradation
- energy
- CO2
- timing
- environmentally friendly
- landfill
- cost
Librarian
Books from the Syllabus
Design for Environment: a Guide to Sustainable Product Development by
Guidelines for designing products and their manufacturing processes to improve financial performance while benefiting the global environmentDrawing upon the experiences of dozens of major U.S. corporations, Design for Environment provides a unifying framework, based on sound management principles by which companies can simultaneously improve financial performance and benefit the global environment. At the heart of this approach is the concept of Andquot;eco-efficiency,Andquot; a measurable characteristic of products and processes that quantifies how companies generate more value with less adverse environmental impact.The book emphasizes a life-cycle approach, which considers the costs and benefits associated with material acquisition, transportation, production, product use, and recovery for recycling or remanufacture. Design for Environment includes examples of leading companies that have put DFE into practice across a range of industries, including electronics, automotive, consumer, and chemical. For the benefit of more senior managers, the book also provides a sweeping overview of the cultural, political, and economic changes that are transforming the role of environmental management in the business world.
ISBN: 9780071605564Publication Date: 2009
Environmentally Conscious Mechanical Design by
The first volume of the Wiley series, Environmentally Conscious Mechanical Design focuses on the foundations of environmental design - both understanding it and implementing it. Coverage includes the important technical and analytical techniques and best practices of designing industrial, business, and consumer products that are environmentally friendly and meet environmental regulations. Topics covered include, Optiizing Designs; Design for Environment (DFE) practices, guidelines, methods and tools; Life Cycle Assessment and Design; Reverse Engineering; ISO 14000 and Environmental Management Systems (EMS) standards and others.
ISBN: 0471726362Publication Date: 2007
The Green to Gold Business Playbook by
"Implement the green strategies outlined in Dan Esty's and Andrew Winston's bestseller Green to Gold" Hard-nosed business advice for gaining competitive advantage through sustainability action in buildings and operations, information technology, product design, sourcing, manufacturing, logistics and transportation, marketing, accounting, and other key business functions Whether you are a climate change skeptic or an environmentalist, sustainability issues cannot be ignored in today's corporate world. With rising energy and natural resource costs, intensified regulations, investor pressures, and a growing demand for environmentally friendly products, sustainability is no longer an option--it's a business imperative. Unlike many green business books, the Playbook skips the environmental ideology and deals exclusively with tools and strategies that have been shown to cut costs, reduce risks, drive revenues, and build brand identity. Builds on Dan Esty and Andrew Winston's prizewinning Green to Gold, which has become a business classic and a staple of management training across the world. Shows in detail how each business function or department can achieve an eco-advantage over the competition Offers frameworks, checklists, and action plans applicable to any business-big or small, in manufacturing or services The Green to Gold Business Playbook gives you the tools to make green work-and work profitably-for your business.
ISBN: 9780470590751Publication Date: 2011
Spreadsheet Modeling and Decision Analysis by
Provides instruction in the most commonly used management science techniques and shows how these tools can be implemented using the most current version of Microsoft Excel for Windows. This text also focuses on developing both algebraic and spreadsheet modelling skills.
ISBN: 0324183992Publication Date: 2003
