Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering: Literature

Engineering Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library contains full-text of every journal article and conference proceeding published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Also contains "The Guide" (know as the ACM Guide to Computing Literature), a more comprehensive computer science database that contains over 600,000 citations. Materials in the guide are from ACM and additional publishers, and not all are available via full text.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to a collection of technical journals from ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) from 2000 forward. Indexes (without full-text access) journals and proceedings going back to the 1950s.
Includes a Twitter feed and an interface for browsing, as well as pre-prints and a portal for submissions.
ASTM Standards and Digital Library This link opens in a new window
In order to use ASTM Compass from off campus, users must create an account, providing your @miamioh.edu email address. This account must either be created while on campus, or accessed once while on campus, in order to function correctly off campus. No account is required for use on campus.

The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information, covering a broad range of engineering disciplines, including: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Compendex is a database, within Engineering Village, that is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world. It provides a truly holistic and global view of peer reviewed and indexed publications.
Energy & Power Source This link opens in a new window
Energy and Power Source is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels. This collection provides full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to the energy and power industries, including those focused on petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, and others.
Energy and Power Source offers cover-to-cover indexing from more than 1,000 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with energy industry-related issues. Hundreds of key energy-focused industry and market reports are also included. The database also offers tens of thousands of additional highly-relevant articles, benchmarks, and best practices, selected from a multitude of trade and industry publications.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is a premier database for information in computing engineering, electrical engineering, and electronics. Full-text access is available for journals and conference proceedings, including IEEE standards. Coverage for all titles is available from 1988, with selected titles from 1913. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Some articles on IEEE Xplore have Code and/or Datasets that have been submitted by authors along with published works. IEEE Xplore document pages have badges on the top-right of the page to denote the availability of this supplemental information. There are two types of badges: 'Code Available' and 'Datasets Available'.
Shock and Vibration Digest This link opens in a new window
Shock and Vibration Digest provides wide-ranging content, including full-text records. Topics include: noise, vibration technologies, seismology, experimental mechanics, and engineering.
Shock and Vibration Digest includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration, including noise, vibration technologies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains records selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journal of Sound and Vibration, Journal of Vibration & Control, etc.

Business Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A resource for full-text industrial market research reports. Reports are available in variety of areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, and more. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Marketline consists of reports on 10,000 companies in the US and internationally, as well as 2,000 industry reports and in-depth country and city reports. It also includes mergers & acquisitions data.

Librarian

Kristen Adams

Email Me

Contact:

209 King Library

513-529-0506

Subjects: Chemical, Paper, and Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Engineering, Geography, Geology, Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, Physics

How to use Databases

STEM Resource Video Series
Short video demos on using particular databases. Created by Miami Librarians.

Last Updated: Jun 20, 2024 11:26 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/mechanical_manufacturing_engin
Print Page

Subjects: Engineering, Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering