chat loading...
Impactful Topics: Ableism, Abortion, Gun Violence, and more: Gender
Overview
As opposed to sex, which comprises only the biological differences among members of a species, typically observable in the chromosomes and reproductive systems of an organism, gender refers to social and cultural identity based on a set of expectations regarding characteristics, behaviors, and norms. Gender identity refers to an individual's internal sense of their own gender and how they determine they fit into their culture's gender paradigm.
This guide provides links to a variety of sources, including books and e-books, journal articles, databases, and websites, that are helpful in researching different aspects of this impactful topic.
- Gender - Research StarterThis link provides a list of various Research Starter articles related to the topic of gender.
- Gender Identity - Opposing ViewpointsDiscusses gender identity through various resources including academic journals, viewpoints, videos, and news clips
Books and e-Books
Gender by ISBN: 9781509538997Publication Date: 2020-10-26Raewyn Connell's book provides a sophisticated yet accessible introduction to modern gender studies, covering empirical research from all parts of the world, in addition to theory and politics.
Gender by Call Number: HQ18.55 .E75 2021ISBN: 9780190880033Publication Date: 2021-01-02The book is written in a question-and-answer format, and Erickson-Schroth and Davis cover topics such as current definitions; the history of gender as concept; the role of biology, psychology, and culture on gender; and gender norms over time and across the globe.
Gender: Your Guide by Call Number: HQ1075 .A3577 2018ISBN: 9781507209004Publication Date: 2018-10-16An authentic and accessible guide to understanding--and engaging in--today's gender conversation.
Gender: the Key Concepts by Call Number: HQ1180 .G4655 2013ISBN: 9780415669610Publication Date: 2012-12-05This invaluable volume provides an overview of 37 terms, theories and concepts frequently used in gender studies which those studying the subject can find difficult to grasp.
The transgender issue : an argument for justice by Call Number: HQ77.9 .F39 2021ISBN: 9780241423141Publication Date: 2021In this powerful new book, Shon Faye reclaims the idea of the 'transgender issue' to uncover the reality of what it means to be trans in a transphobic society. In doing so, she provides a compelling, wide-ranging analysis of trans lives from youth to old age, exploring work, family, housing, healthcare, the prison system and trans participation in the LGBTQ+ and feminist communities, in contemporary Britain and beyond.
Transgender Rights by Call Number: HQ77.95.U6 M39 2020ISBN: 9780815359395Publication Date: 2019-08-05This book examines the transgender community's struggle for equality over the last decade, comparing the Obama and Trump administrations' stance on transgender rights policies.
Transgender History, Second Edition by Call Number: HQ77.9 .S77 2017ISBN: 9781580056892Publication Date: 2017-11-07Covering American transgender history from the mid-twentieth century to today, Transgender History takes a chronological approach to the subject of transgender history, with each chapter covering major movements, writings, and events.
Subject Headings and Search Terms
Subject Headings and search terms:
Gender identity
Gender expression
Gender nonconformity
Gender inequality
Gender stereotypes
Sex role
Sex differences
Gender identity -- Social aspects
Transgender people
Human body -- Social aspects
Common Gender Pronouns
Other Guides
Journal Articles
- Transgender Status, Gender Identity, and Socioeconomic Outcomes in the United States
- Carpenter, C. S., Eppink, S. T., & Gonzales, G. (2020). Transgender Status, Gender Identity, and Socioeconomic Outcomes in the United States. ILR Review, 73(3), 573–599. https://doi.org/10.1177/
0019793920902776
- Carpenter, C. S., Eppink, S. T., & Gonzales, G. (2020). Transgender Status, Gender Identity, and Socioeconomic Outcomes in the United States. ILR Review, 73(3), 573–599. https://doi.org/10.1177/
- Community support for sexual and gender diversity, minority stress, and mental health: A mixed-methods study of adolescents with minoritized sexual and gender identities
- Hammack, P. L., Pletta, D. R., Hughes, S. D., Atwood, J. M., Cohen, E. M., & Clark, R. C. (2022). Community support for sexual and gender diversity, minority stress, and mental health: A mixed-methods study of adolescents with minoritized sexual and gender identities. Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity. https://doi.org/10.1037/
sgd0000591
- Hammack, P. L., Pletta, D. R., Hughes, S. D., Atwood, J. M., Cohen, E. M., & Clark, R. C. (2022). Community support for sexual and gender diversity, minority stress, and mental health: A mixed-methods study of adolescents with minoritized sexual and gender identities. Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity. https://doi.org/10.1037/
- The effects of gender identity change efforts on Black, Latinx, and White transgender and gender nonbinary adults: Implications for ethical clinical practice
- Heiden-Rootes, K., McGeorge, C. R., Salas, J., & Levine, S. (2022). The effects of gender identity change efforts on Black, Latinx, and White transgender and gender nonbinary adults: Implications for ethical clinical practice. Journal of Marital and Family Therapy, 48(3), 927–944. https://doi.org/10.1111/jmft.
12575
- Heiden-Rootes, K., McGeorge, C. R., Salas, J., & Levine, S. (2022). The effects of gender identity change efforts on Black, Latinx, and White transgender and gender nonbinary adults: Implications for ethical clinical practice. Journal of Marital and Family Therapy, 48(3), 927–944. https://doi.org/10.1111/jmft.
- “I Can Construct It in My Own Way”: A Critical Qualitative Examination of Gender Self-Categorisation Processes
- Jackson, E. F., Sheanoda, V., & Bussey, K. (2022). “I Can Construct It in My Own Way”: A Critical Qualitative Examination of Gender Self-Categorisation Processes. Psychology of Women Quarterly, 46(3), 372–389. https://doi.org/10.1177/
03616843221102787
- Jackson, E. F., Sheanoda, V., & Bussey, K. (2022). “I Can Construct It in My Own Way”: A Critical Qualitative Examination of Gender Self-Categorisation Processes. Psychology of Women Quarterly, 46(3), 372–389. https://doi.org/10.1177/
- Sex Assigned at Birth Ratio Among Transgender and Gender Diverse Adolescents in the United States
- Turban, J. L., Dolotina, B., King, D., & Keuroghlian, A. S. (2022). Sex Assigned at Birth Ratio Among Transgender and Gender Diverse Adolescents in the United States. Pediatrics, 150(3), 1–6. https://doi.org/10.1542/peds.
2022-056567
- Turban, J. L., Dolotina, B., King, D., & Keuroghlian, A. S. (2022). Sex Assigned at Birth Ratio Among Transgender and Gender Diverse Adolescents in the United States. Pediatrics, 150(3), 1–6. https://doi.org/10.1542/peds.
- Effect of LGBT anti-discrimination laws on school climate and outcomes for lesbian, gay, and bisexual high school students
- Fields, X., & Wotipka, C. M. (2022). Effect of LGBT anti-discrimination laws on school climate and outcomes for lesbian, gay, and bisexual high school students. Journal of LGBT Youth, 19(3), 307–329. https://doi.org/10.1080/
19361653.2020.1821276
- Fields, X., & Wotipka, C. M. (2022). Effect of LGBT anti-discrimination laws on school climate and outcomes for lesbian, gay, and bisexual high school students. Journal of LGBT Youth, 19(3), 307–329. https://doi.org/10.1080/
- Gender stereotypes can explain the gender-equality paradox
- Breda, T., Jouini, E., Napp, C., & Thebault, G. (2020). Gender stereotypes can explain the gender-equality paradox. PNAS Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 117(49), 31063–31069. https://doi.org/10.1073/pnas.
2008704117
- Breda, T., Jouini, E., Napp, C., & Thebault, G. (2020). Gender stereotypes can explain the gender-equality paradox. PNAS Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 117(49), 31063–31069. https://doi.org/10.1073/pnas.
- Names and “Doing Gender”: How Forenames and Surnames Contribute to Gender Identities, Difference, and Inequalities
- Pilcher, J. (2017). Names and “Doing Gender”: How Forenames and Surnames Contribute to Gender Identities, Difference, and Inequalities. Sex Roles, 77(11–12), 812–822. https://doi.org/10.1007/
s11199-017-0805-4
- Pilcher, J. (2017). Names and “Doing Gender”: How Forenames and Surnames Contribute to Gender Identities, Difference, and Inequalities. Sex Roles, 77(11–12), 812–822. https://doi.org/10.1007/
- “Transforming” the Debate: Why We Need to Include Transgender Rights in the Struggles for Sex and Sexual Orientation Equality
- Flynn, T. (2001). “Transforming” the Debate: Why We Need to Include Transgender Rights in the Struggles for Sex and Sexual Orientation Equality. Columbia Law Review, 101(2), 392–420. https://doi.org/10.2307/
1123803
- Flynn, T. (2001). “Transforming” the Debate: Why We Need to Include Transgender Rights in the Struggles for Sex and Sexual Orientation Equality. Columbia Law Review, 101(2), 392–420. https://doi.org/10.2307/
Databases
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window Index to academic research on women, gender studies, sexual diversity, gender identity, masculinity, feminism, and LGBTQ issues. 1930-present, although the bulk of the content is 1970s -present.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window Archival and current content in the area of LGBT studies. Includes topics related to civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
- LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window Full-text of key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. Includes materials ranging from seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, ephemera, poetry, memoirs, biographies, fiction, etc. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by healthcare professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Websites
- Gender DiversityGender Diversity is a nonprofit organization dedicated to raising awareness and understanding of the full range of gender diversity for youth, families, adults, and organizations. Gender Diversity organizes the annual Gender Odyssey conference and conducts workshops with schools, employers, and others. On its website, the organization has a variety of resources for families and professionals, including information on support groups, inclusivity training, and best practices for schools and health care providers.
- Trans Student Educational ResourcesTrans Student Educational Resources (TSER) is a youth-led organization that focuses on transforming educational environments to be more inclusive of transgender and gender-nonconforming people.
- Gender Identity/Expression and Sexual Orientation Resource Center (GIESORC)The Gender Identity/Expression and Sexual Orientation Resource Center (GIESORC) at Washington State University is dedicated to fostering an inclusive community for people of all genders and sexual orientations.
- It Gets BetterThe It Gets Better Project is a nonprofit organization with a mission to uplift, empower, and connect lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer youth around the globe.