chat loading...
Impactful Topics: Ableism, Abortion, Gun Violence, and more: Abortion
Overview
Abortion is a medical or surgical procedure that is the deliberate ending of a pregnancy before the embryo or fetus is viable or capable of surviving outside a person's body. In 1973, the U.S. Supreme Court in Roe v. Wade, ruled that a woman's right to an abortion is protected under certain conditions. In 2022, the U.S. Supreme Court overturned this decision and noted that abortion is a matter to be decided by states and the voters in the states. Abortion remains a highly controversial issue and states have enacted laws restricting and regulating access to abortion.
This guide provides links to a variety of sources, including books and e-books, journal articles, databases, and websites, that are helpful in researching different aspects of this impactful topic.
- Abortion - Opposing ViewpointsDefines abortion and discusses differences between medical and surgical abortions. Covers main points in U.S, legislative history and touches on anti-abortion activism.
- Abortion - Research StarterAn overview of abortion and controversies surrounding it from Magill's Medical Guide (Online Edition)
Books and e-Books
Roe v. Wade by Call Number: HQ767.5.U5 H55 2008ISBN: 9780780810266Publication Date: 2008-04-08Provides users with a detailed and authoritative overview of this event, as well as the principal figures involved in this pivotal episode in U.S. history.
Abortion in America by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781108498289Publication Date: 2020-03-26The first comprehensive legal history of a vital period, Abortion and the Law in America illuminates an entirely different and unexpected shift in the terms of debate. Rather than simply championing rights, those on opposing sides battled about the policy costs and benefits of abortion and laws restricting it.
About Abortion by Call Number: HQ767.15 .S26 2017ISBN: 9780674737723Publication Date: 2017-03-27Sanger takes the prejudicial views of women's abortion decisions into the twenty-first century by uncovering new connections between abortion law and American culture and politics.
Her Body, Our Laws by Call Number: RG734 .O34 2018ISBN: 9780807045527Publication Date: 2018-01-16A fresh look at the battle over abortion law, Her Body, Our Laws is an invitation to those on all sides of the issue to move beyond the incomplete discourse about legality by understanding how the law actually matters.
Abortion Rights by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781107170933Publication Date: 2017-11-23This book features opening arguments followed by two rounds of reply between two moral philosophers on opposing sides of the abortion debate. The result gives readers a window into how moral philosophers argue about the contentious issue of abortion rights, and an in-depth analysis of the compelling arguments on both sides.
The Moral Case for Abortion by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9783030901882Publication Date: 2022-01-27This revised and updated edition of the 2016 bestselling work sets out the moral arguments for a woman's right to decide the future of her pregnancy. Drawing on traditions of philosophical and sociological thinking, it presents the case for recognizing autonomy in personal, private decision-making about reproductive intentions.
Scarlet A by Call Number: HQ767.5.U5 W38 2018ISBN: 9780190624859Publication Date: 2018-02-01The book gives the reflective reader a more accurate impression of what the majority of American abortion practice really looks like. It explains why this public/private disjuncture exists, what it costs us, and what can be gained by including ordinary abortion in public debate.
Reproductive Rights by Call Number: HQ766.5.U5 R475 2018ISBN: 9781534502062Publication Date: 2017-12-15Does the government have the right to legislate women's health? This close examination provides perspectives from all sides to help readers understand what is at stake.
The Safety and Quality of Abortion Care in the United States by Call Number: HQ767.5.U6 S24 2018ISBN: 9780309468183Publication Date: 2018-06-24The Safety and Quality of Abortion Care in the United States offers a comprehensive review of the current state of the science related to the provision of safe, high-quality abortion services in the United States. This report considers 8 research questions and presents conclusions, including gaps in research.
Pro by Call Number: HQ767.5.U5 P65 2014ISBN: 9780312620547Publication Date: 2014-10-14In Pro, Pollitt takes on the personhood argument, reaffirms the priority of a woman's life and health, and discusses why terminating a pregnancy can be a force for good for women, families, and society.
Subject Headings and search terms:
Abortion -- Law and legislation -- United States
Abortion---Moral and ethical aspects
Abortion---Political aspects
Abortion----Religious aspects
Fetus -- Legal status, laws, etc
Reproductive rights -- United States
Women's Rights
Pro-choice Movement
Pro-life Movement
Journal Articles
- Abortion Evolution: How Roe v. Wade Has Come to Support a Pro-Life & Pro-Choice Position.
- English, J. (2019). Abortion Evolution: How Roe v. Wade Has Come to Support a Pro-Life & Pro-Choice Position. Creighton Law Review, 53(1), 157–210.
- The Clash of Rights: Explaining Attitudes toward a Religious Exemption to the HHS Contraception Mandate.
- Holmes, K. G., & Garand, J. C. (2018). The Clash of Rights: Explaining Attitudes toward a Religious Exemption to the HHS Contraception Mandate. PS: Political Science & Politics, 51(2), 358–369. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1049096517002517
- Complexity in attitudes toward abortion access: Results from two studies.
- Jozkowski, K. N., Crawford, B. L., & Hunt, M. E. (2018). Complexity in attitudes toward abortion access: Results from two studies. Sexuality Research & Social Policy: A Journal of the NSRC, 15(4), 464–482. https://doi.org/10.1007/s13178-018-0322-4
- Erosion of women’s reproductive rights in the United States.
- Aiken, A. R. A. (2019). Erosion of women’s reproductive rights in the United States. BMJ (Clinical Research Ed.), 366, l4444. https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.l4444
- Beyond Roe: Why Abortion Should Be Legal Even If the Fetus Is a Person.
- Greasley, K. (2021). Beyond Roe: Why Abortion Should Be Legal Even If the Fetus Is a Person. Criminal Law and Philosophy, 15(3), 535–544.
- Hidden Meanings of the Culture War over Abortion in the United States
- Elizabeth Maier. (2018). Hidden Meanings of the Culture War over Abortion in the United States. Frontera Norte, 30(59), 57–80. https://doi.org/10.17428/rfn.v30i59.879
- Moral Responsibility and the Wrongness of Abortion.
- Bernstein, C., & Manata, P. (2019). Moral Responsibility and the Wrongness of Abortion. The Journal of Medicine and Philosophy, 44(2), 243–262. https://doi.org/10.1093/jmp/jhy039
- The Use of Historical Analogies in the Abortion Debate.
- Bellinger, C. K. (2017). The Use of Historical Analogies in the Abortion Debate. Catholic Social Science Review, 22, 281–290.
- Why We Should Stop Using the Term “Elective Abortion.”
- Watson, K. (2018). Why We Should Stop Using the Term “Elective Abortion.” AMA Journal of Ethics, 20(12), E1175–E1180. https://doi.org/10.1001/amajethics.2018.1175
- Prenatal politics: fetal surgery, abortion and disability rights in the United States.
- Tunc, T. E. (2021). Prenatal politics: fetal surgery, abortion and disability rights in the United States. New Bioethics, 27(4), 334–348. https://doi.org/10.1080/20502877.2021.1981043
- Listening to the Heartbeat of the Pro-life Movement.
- Short, E. (2021). Listening to the Heartbeat of the Pro-life Movement. Human Life Review, 47(4), 102–108.
Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window This comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary index to research articles on women's studies, including sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Full-text of the entire historical runs many law journals with more being added regularly. Also included: the Federal Register (1936-1981), U.S. Reports (Supreme Court opinions), United States Treaties sets, international treaties, and many more.
- Electronic Journal Center This link opens in a new window Provides the full-text of electronic journals from specific publishers in the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities via OhioLINK. The Electronic Journal Center (EJC) also provides notification via email about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.
Websites
- Abortion: Historical TrendsResults of Gallup Polls from 1975 - 2019, tracking opinions on abortion in the U.S.
- Abortion: Pew Research CenterLinks to many of the latest Pew Research Center reports and data on views toward abortion in the United States and around the world.
- Key Facts About the Abortion Debate in AmericaAs the debate over abortion continues, here are five key facts about Americans’ views on the topic, based on recent Pew Research Center polling:
- An Overview of Abortion LawsOverview of state abortion laws from the Guttmacher Institute, as of April 2010. Also, click on State Laws and Policies tab.
- Do state laws on abortion reflect public opinion?From the Pew Research Center FactTank
- WHO - AbortionDiscusses worldwide coverage and facts on abortion from the World Health Organization.
- State Facts About AbortionFrom the Guttmacher Institute. Choose a state from the drop down menu, to view that state's fact sheet.
- State Policy ResourcesThe Guttmacher Institute monitors and analyzes state policy developments—including legislative, judicial and executive actions—on a broad range of issues related to sexual and reproductive health and rights. These resources, on such issues as access to and availability of abortion, contraceptive services and sex education, are updated regularly to provide a comprehensive picture of the state policy landscape.
Interactive: How State Policies Shape Access to Abortion Coverage
Click on Map below to access interactive features.
Then click on any state to see its policies on Abortion Coverage in Medicaid, Private Insurance, and ACA Exchange Plans – 2022