chat loading...
Impactful Topics: Ableism, Abortion, Gun Violence, and more: Antiracism
Overview
Antiracism is a belief that recognizes pervasive racism in society, and actively combats racial prejudice and discrimination in order to promote racial justice and equality.
This guide provides links to a variety of sources, including books and e-books, journal articles, databases, and websites, that are helpful in researching different aspects of this impactful topic.
- Antiracism - Opposing ViewpointsDefines antiracism and provides various resources including academic journals, viewpoints, videos, and news clips.
- Antiracism - Research StarterAn overview of antiracism from Salem Press.
- Antiracist ResourcesThis guide includes resources compiled by the Miami University Libraries Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Working Group.
- Anti-Racism Resources ListThe Anti-Racism Resources List from the Office of Institutional Diversity & Inclusion includes a section of items to read and watch.
- Discrimination against Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) CommunitiesDiscusses discrimination against the AAPI community and provides various resources including academic journals, viewpoints, videos, and news clips
Books and e-Books
Between the World and Me by Call Number: E185.615 .C6335 2015ISBN: 9780812993547Publication Date: 2015-07-14In this book, Coates takes readers along on his journey through America's history of race and its contemporary resonances through a series of awakenings--moments when he discovered some new truth about our long, tangled history of race, whether through his myth-busting professors at Howard University, a trip to a Civil War battlefield with a rogue historian, a journey to Chicago's South Side to visit aging survivors of 20th century America's 'long war on black people,' or a visit with the mother of a beloved friend who was shot down by the police
Have Black Lives Ever Mattered? by Call Number: E185.86 .A28 2017ISBN: 9780872867383Publication Date: 2017-07-04"A must-read for anyone interested in social justice and inequalities, social movements, the criminal justice system, and African American history. An excellent companion to Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow and Ava DuVernay's documentary 13th."--Library Journal
How to Raise an Antiracist by Call Number: BF723.R3 K46 2022ISBN: 9780593242537Publication Date: 2022-06-14Kendi combines a century of scientific research with a vulnerable and compelling personal narrative of his own journey as a parent and as a child in school. The chapters follow the stages of child development from pregnancy to toddler to schoolkid to teenager. It is never too early or late to start raising young people to be antiracist.
Minor Feelings by Call Number: E184.O6 H64 2020ISBN: 9781984820365Publication Date: 2020-02-25With sly humor and a poet's searching mind, Hong uses her own story as a portal into a deeper examination of racial consciousness in America today. This intimate and devastating book traces her relationship to the English language, to shame and depression, to poetry and female friendship.
The New Jim Crow by Call Number: HV9950 .A437 2010ISBN: 9781595581037Publication Date: 2010-01-05Despite the triumphant dismantling of the Jim Crow Laws, the system that once forced African Americans into a segregated second-class citizenship still haunts America, the US criminal justice system still unfairly targets black men and an entire segment of the population is deprived of their basic rights. Outside of prisons, a web of laws and regulations discriminates against these wrongly convicted ex-offenders in voting, housing, employment and education.
So You Want to Talk about Race by Call Number: E184.A1 O454 2018ISBN: 9781580056779Publication Date: 2018-01-16In "So You Want to Talk About Race", Ijeoma Oluo guides readers of all races through subjects ranging from police brutality and cultural appropriation to the model minority myth in an attempt to make the seemingly impossible possible: honest conversations about race, and about how racism infects every aspect of American life.
Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You by Call Number: E184.A1 R49 2020ISBN: 9780316453691Publication Date: 2020-03-10This remarkable reimagining of Dr. Ibram X. Kendi's National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Beginning reveals the history of racist ideas in America, and inspires hope for an antiracist future.
They Can't Kill Us All by Call Number: HV7936.R3 .L69 2016ISBN: 9780316312479Publication Date: 2016-11-15A deeply reported book that brings alive the quest for justice in the deaths of Michael Brown, Tamir Rice, and Freddie Gray, offering both unparalleled insight into the reality of police violence in America and an intimate, moving portrait of those working to end it.
When They Call You a Terrorist by Call Number: E185.97.K43 A3 2018ISBN: 9781250171085Publication Date: 2018-01-16A memoir by the co-founder of the Black Lives Matter movement explains the movement's position of love, humanity, and justice, challenging perspectives that have negatively labeled the movement's activists while calling for essential political changes
White Fragility by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780807047422Publication Date: 2018-06-26The New York Times best-selling book exploring the counterproductive reactions white people have when their assumptions about race are challenged, and how these reactions maintain racial inequality.
Whiteness at the Table by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781498578080Publication Date: 2018-01-01This book examines the complexities, losses, and confusion of white racial identities across educational contexts of families and schools, thinking specifically about what this means for educators. It argues that antiracism requires building relationships and story-sharing spaces as a way of living out antiracist commitments
Yellow by Call Number: E184.O6 W84 2003ISBN: 9780465006403Publication Date: 2003-03-27Writing in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Cornel West, and others who confronted the "color line" of the twentieth century, journalist, scholar, and activist Frank H. Wu offers a unique perspective on how changing ideas of racial identity will affect race relations in the twenty-first century. Wu examines affirmative action, globalization, immigration, and other controversial contemporary issues through the lens of the Asian-American experience.
Journal Articles
- Predatory White antiracism.
- Badenhorst, P. (2021). Predatory White antiracism. Psychoanalysis, Culture & Society, 26(3), 284–303. https://doi.org/10.1057/s41282-021-00222-8
- Racism and antiracism in nursing education: confronting the problem of whiteness.
- Hantke, S., St. Denis, V., & Graham, H. (2022). Racism and antiracism in nursing education: confronting the problem of whiteness. BMC Nursing, 21(1), 1–9. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12912-022-00929-8
- Antiracism in Action.
- Harawa, D., & Hasbrouck, B. (2021). Antiracism in Action. Washington and Lee Law Review, 78(3), 1027–1050.
- Amplifying Antiracism Resources through Intra-University Collaboration.
- Hendricks, L., & Springs, G. R. (2022). Amplifying Antiracism Resources through Intra-University Collaboration. Collaborative Librarianship, 13(1), 40–50.
- Advancing antiracism in community-based research practices in early childhood and family mental health.
- Lane Jr., A., et.al. (2022). Advancing antiracism in community-based research practices in early childhood and family mental health. Journal of the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, 61(1), 15–22. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jaac.2021.06.018
- On Decolonizing US Education: Lessons from the Caribbean and South Africa.
- Sappleton, S. & Adams, D. (2022). On Decolonizing US Education: Lessons from the Caribbean and South Africa. The Professional Educator, 45(1), 42–57. https://doi.org/10.47038/tpe.45.01.11
- Overcoming resistance, stimulating action and decentering white students through structural racism focused antiracism education.
- Smalling, S. E. (2022). Overcoming resistance, stimulating action and decentering white students through structural racism focused antiracism education. Teaching in Higher Education, 27(5), 601–614. https://doi.org/10.1080/13562517.2020.1725880
- Using Twitter data to explore public discourse to antiracism movements.
- Walker, R. L., & Kaye, L. K. (2022). Using Twitter data to explore public discourse to antiracism movements. Technology, Mind, and Behavior, 3(2). https://doi.org/10.1037/tmb0000070.supp
- The effects of antiracism education on intended confrontation of institutional discrimination: A game theory approach.
- Wedell, E., Dickter, C. L., & Bravo, A. J. (2022). The effects of antiracism education on intended confrontation of institutional discrimination: A game theory approach. Journal of Applied Social Psychology, 52(5), 376–390. https://doi.org/10.1111/jasp.12865
Databases
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window An index focused on content relating specifically to the relationship between races, specifically the social, political, and economic relations between races and ethnicities. Subjects covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration studies. Limited full-text.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides government and other reports, articles, books and more on law enforcement and criminal justice.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Essential database for resources on criminal justice and criminology.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records This link opens in a new window Primary source government documents related to the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century.
Websites
- Being AntiracistA page on the website of the National Museum of African American History and Culture, part of the Smithsonian Institution, provides multimedia content on fighting against racism to create a more equal society.
- Boston University Center for Antiracist ResearchFounded in 2020 by Ibram X. Kendi, a national leader in discussions of antiracism, the Boston University Center for Antiracist Research works with "researchers and practitioners from various disciplines" to complete research and gather data about racial injustice and inequities in US society. It's mission is to build an antiracist society by focusing on racist policies and providing antiracist narratives, advocacy campaigns, and strategies for policy change.
- Learning for JusticeLearning for Justice is a project of the Southern Poverty Law Center that aims to provide educators with the resources necessary to foster tolerance, acceptance, and understanding among children. The website offers classroom resources, such as learning plans and film kits; webinars and other professional development materials for teachers; and information on key topics such as race and ethnicity, disability, class, and religion.
- Asian American Justice ToolkitThis toolkit reflects our analysis of the interconnectedness of issues and constituencies within the structures of white supremacy. In addition to workshop modules, we offer some of our experiences and lessons learned in working to dismantle structural racism.
- The 1619 ProjectThe 1619 Project is an ongoing initiative from The New York Times Magazine that began in August 2019, the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery. It aims to reframe the country’s history by placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of black Americans at the very center of our national narrative.
- Talking about RaceTalking about race is not easy, although hard, is necessary. We are here to provide tools and guidance to empower your journey and inspire conversation.
- A Conversation on RaceA series of short films about identity in America
Subject Headings and Search Terms
Subject Headings and search terms:
African Americans -- Civil rights
African Americans -- Violence against
Anti-racism -- United States
Asian Americans -- Civil rights
Asian Americans -- Race identity
Asian Americans -- Social conditions
Police brutality -- United States
Race awareness in children -- United States
Racism -- United States
United States -- Race relations