chat loading...
Impactful Topics: Ableism, Abortion, Gun Violence, and more: Ableism
Overview
Ableism is the discrimination of people with disabilities. Ableism sends a message that disabled individuals are of lesser value than "able-bodied" individuals. The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), passed in 1990, defines a disability as "a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits a major life activity." While some people are born with disabilities, others become disabled from a sickness, disease, or an accident. Nearly fifty-seven million Americans are disabled. While they have made strides in terms of equal access to workplaces and public institutions, people with disabilities still face ableism in society.
This guide provides links to a variety of sources, including books and e-books, journal articles, databases, and websites, that are helpful in researching different aspects of this impactful topic.
- Ableism - Research StarterAn overview of ableism, its history and impact from Salem Press.
- Disability Rights - Opposing ViewpointsDiscusses disability rights and provides various resources including academic journals, viewpoints, videos, and news clips
- Ableism - Opposing ViewpointsProvides an overview of ableism with various resources including academic journals, viewpoints, videos, and news clips
Books and e-Books
Ableism: the Causes and Consequences of Disability Prejudice by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781119142133Publication Date: 2019-09-02The first comprehensive volume to integrate social-scientific literature on the origins and manifestations of prejudice against disabled people.
Ableism at Work by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781108497305Publication Date: 2019-12-19Ableism at Work is a comprehensive and comparative legal, practical and theoretical analysis of workplace inequalities experienced by workers with psychosocial disabilities.
Academic Ableism by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780472123414Publication Date: 2017-11-22Academic Ableism brings together disability studies and institutional critique to recognize the ways that disability is composed in and by higher education, and rewrites the spaces, times, and economies of disability in higher education to place disability front and center.
Being Seen by Call Number: HV1792.S54 A3 2021ISBN: 9781982152376Publication Date: 2021-10-26A Deafblind writer and professor explores how the misrepresentation of disability in books, movies, and TV harms both the disabled community and everyone else.
Demystifying Disability by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781984858979Publication Date: 2021-09-07An approachable guide to being a thoughtful, informed ally to disabled people, with actionable steps for what to say and do (and what not to do) and how you can help make the world a more accessible, inclusive place.
Haben by Call Number: KF373.G567 A3 2019ISBN: 9781538728727Publication Date: 2019-08-06The incredible life story of Haben Girma, the first Deafblind graduate of Harvard Law School, and her amazing journey from isolation to the world stage. Haben pioneered her way through obstacles, graduated from Harvard Law, and now uses her talents to advocate for people with disabilities.
My Body Is Not a Prayer Request by Call Number: BV4910 .K46 2022ISBN: 9781587435454Publication Date: 2022-05-17Written by a disabled Christian, this book shows that the church is missing out on the prophetic witness and blessing of disability. Kenny reflects on her experiences inside the church to expose unintentional ableism and cast a new vision for Christian communities to engage disability justice.
Undoing Ableism by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781351002851Publication Date: 2019-08-30Using an interactive style, the book provides tools teachers can use to facilitate authentic dialogues with students about constructed meanings of disability, the nature of belongingness, and the creation of inclusive communities.
Addressing Ableism by Call Number: HV1568 .S389 2018ISBN: 9781498540742Publication Date: 2017-10-25Scuro provides crucial insights into the many uninhabitable and unsustainable effects of ableism and how we might revise our intentions and desires for the sake of a less ableist world.
Subject Headings and Search Terms
Ableism
Discrimination against people with disabilities
Disabilities
Disabilities -- Study and teaching
Disability studies
Journal Articles
- Reducing Ableism and the Social Exclusion of People With Disabilities: Positive Impacts of Openness and Education
- Conley, K. T., & Nadler, D. R. (2022). Reducing Ableism and the Social Exclusion of People With Disabilities: Positive Impacts of Openness and Education. Psi Chi Journal of Psychological Research, 27(1), 21–32. https://doi.org/10.24839/2325-
7342.JN27.1.21
- Conley, K. T., & Nadler, D. R. (2022). Reducing Ableism and the Social Exclusion of People With Disabilities: Positive Impacts of Openness and Education. Psi Chi Journal of Psychological Research, 27(1), 21–32. https://doi.org/10.24839/2325-
- Conceptualizing the Marginalization Experiences of People with Disabilities in Organizations Using an Ableism Lens
- Kwon, C., & Archer, M. (2022). Conceptualizing the Marginalization Experiences of People with Disabilities in Organizations Using an Ableism Lens. Human Resource Development Review, 21(3), 324–351. https://doi.org/10.1177/
15344843221106561
- Kwon, C., & Archer, M. (2022). Conceptualizing the Marginalization Experiences of People with Disabilities in Organizations Using an Ableism Lens. Human Resource Development Review, 21(3), 324–351. https://doi.org/10.1177/
- Tracing Ableism’s Rhetorical Circulation through an Analysis of Composition Mission Statements
- Bennett, K. C. (2021). Tracing Ableism’s Rhetorical Circulation through an Analysis of Composition Mission Statements. Composition Studies, 49(3), 74–100.
- Infusing disability equity within rehabilitation education and practice: A qualitative study of lived experiences of ableism, allyship, and healthcare partnership
- Feldner, H. A., Evans, H. D., Chamblin, K., Ellis, L. M., Harniss, M. K., Lee, D.,& Woiak, J. (2022). Infusing disability equity within rehabilitation education and practice: A qualitative study of lived experiences of ableism, allyship, and healthcare partnership. Frontiers in Rehabilitation Sciences, 3. https://doi.org/10.3389/fresc.
2022.947592
- Feldner, H. A., Evans, H. D., Chamblin, K., Ellis, L. M., Harniss, M. K., Lee, D.,& Woiak, J. (2022). Infusing disability equity within rehabilitation education and practice: A qualitative study of lived experiences of ableism, allyship, and healthcare partnership. Frontiers in Rehabilitation Sciences, 3. https://doi.org/10.3389/fresc.
- Navigating the Perfect Storm of Ageism, Mentalism, and Ableism: A Prevention Model
- Rabheru, K., & Gillis, M. (2021). Navigating the Perfect Storm of Ageism, Mentalism, and Ableism: A Prevention Model. The American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry, 29(10), 1058–1061. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.
jagp.2021.06.018
- Rabheru, K., & Gillis, M. (2021). Navigating the Perfect Storm of Ageism, Mentalism, and Ableism: A Prevention Model. The American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry, 29(10), 1058–1061. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.
- Deconstructing Ableism in Health Care Settings Through Case-Based Learning
- Dhanani, Z., Huynh, N., Tan, L., Kottakota, H., Lee, R., & Poullos, P. (2022). Deconstructing Ableism in Health Care Settings Through Case-Based Learning. MedEdPORTAL, 18. https://doi.org/10.15766/mep_
2374-8265.11253
- Dhanani, Z., Huynh, N., Tan, L., Kottakota, H., Lee, R., & Poullos, P. (2022). Deconstructing Ableism in Health Care Settings Through Case-Based Learning. MedEdPORTAL, 18. https://doi.org/10.15766/mep_
- Addressing Ableism in Workplace Policies and Practices
- Scott, P. S. (2016). Addressing Ableism in Workplace Policies and Practices: The Case for Disability Standards in Employment. Flinders Law Journal, 18(1), 121–160.
- Ableism and disablism in higher education: The case of two students living with chronic illnesses
- Bê, A. (2019). Ableism and disablism in higher education: The case of two students living with chronic illnesses. Alter - European Journal of Disability Research, Revue Européenne de Recherche Sur Le Handicap, 13(3), 179–191. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.
alter.2019.03.004
- Bê, A. (2019). Ableism and disablism in higher education: The case of two students living with chronic illnesses. Alter - European Journal of Disability Research, Revue Européenne de Recherche Sur Le Handicap, 13(3), 179–191. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.
Databases
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Provides resources on all levels of education, including higher education and includes more professional and trade publications than indexed elsewhere.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 1,750 active journals and 39,000 books to help users discover more novel science, use their time efficiently, and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information. Content covers physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Websites
- How to talk about disability sensitively and avoid ableist tropesAn article from NPR on how to talk about disability.
- Mobility International USAMobility International USA is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing disability rights, visibility, and opportunity.
- RespectAbilityRespectAbility is a disability-led nonprofit organization focused on advancing policies and practices that enhance inclusion, fight stigma, and empower people with lived disability experience.