chat loading...
Impactful Topics: Ableism, Abortion, Gun Violence, and more: Immigration
Overview
Immigration is the act of moving from one's home country to another nation with the intention of settling there permanently. Immigrants may or may not become citizens of their new countries of residence. In the United States, immigrants may become naturalized citizens or remain legally as permanent or conditional residents. People in the country without permission are considered undocumented immigrants.
This guide provides links to a variety of sources, including books and e-books, journal articles, databases, and websites, that are helpful in researching different aspects of this impactful topic.
- Immigration - Opposing ViewpointsDefines immigration and discusses how and why people immigrate to other countries.
- Immigration - Research StarterAn overview of immigration from Salem Press.
Books and e-Books
Immigration: Examining the Facts by Call Number: JV6465 .E25 2017ISBN: 9781440835346Publication Date: 2016-12-12What are the myths and truths regarding immigration in the United States? This book provides readers with an impartial understanding of the true state of immigration and immigration policy in the United States by refuting falsehoods, misinformation, and exaggerations surrounding this topic--and confirming the validity of other assertions.
Immigration by Call Number: JV6456 .A53 2010ISBN: 9780313380280Publication Date: 2010-07-01Immigration is a comprehensive and practical guide to the history, economics, and contributions of immigrants, written by a former key policymaker who is now a leading researcher in the field.
Immigrants by Call Number: HM841 .I546 2013ISBN: 9781628086171Publication Date: 2013-01-01The immigrant experience is multidimensional, consisting of at least one and sometimes multiple geographical relocations, and the various socio-economic, cultural, and psychological challenges that are encountered en route. In this volume, the authors provide insights regarding the multidimensional immigrant experience in different countries around the world.
Immigrants: Your Country Needs Them by Call Number: JV6217 .L45 2007ISBN: 9780691134314Publication Date: 2007-07-15Combining compelling firsthand reporting from around the world, incisive socioeconomic analysis, and a broad understanding of what's at stake politically and culturally, Immigrants is a passionate but lucid book.
The Immigrant Superpower by Call Number: JV6475 .K36 2022ISBN: 9780190088194Publication Date: 2022-01-27An insightful, persuasive, and honest defense of immigration as central to the United States' economic power and national security.
America Is Immigrants by Call Number: JV6450 .N58 2019ISBN: 9781984819826Publication Date: 2019-10-15A gorgeously illustrated collection featuring inspiring immigrants from every country in the world, celebrating the incredible range of what it means to be an American. This dazzling volume brings American immigrant stories to life in short biographies written by award-winning writer Sara Novic, with charming full-color illustrations by Alison Kolesar.
Immigrant Experiences by Call Number: E184.A1 E93 2018ISBN: 9781538100509Publication Date: 2018-08-15This book weaves together detailed historical and contemporary examples of immigration to the United States that move beyond hackneyed stereotypes about immigrants to give readers a fact-based understanding of why and how immigration occurs. Discussing immigration from the 1800s to today, Ewing explores the motivations, challenges, and triumphs of various immigrant groups, including the Irish, Italians, Mexicans, Chinese, and Indians.
Taste Makers by Call Number: TX649.A1 S46 2022ISBN: 9781324004516Publication Date: 2021-11-16This group biography from an electric new voice in food writing honors seven extraordinary women, all immigrants, who left an indelible mark on the way Americans eat today. Weaving together histories of food, immigration, and gender, Taste Makers will challenge the way readers look at what's on their plate--and the women whose labor, overlooked for so long, makes those meals possible.
Novels and Memoirs about the Immigrant Experience:
Crying in H Mart by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780525657743Publication Date: 2021-04-20In this exquisite story of family, food, grief, and endurance, Michelle Zauner proves herself far more than a dazzling singer, songwriter, and guitarist. With humor and heart, she tells of growing up one of the few Asian American kids at her school in Eugene, Oregon; of struggling with her mother's particular, high expectations of her; of a painful adolescence; of treasured months spent in her grandmother's tiny apartment in Seoul, where she and her mother would bond, late at night, over heaping plates of food.
The Education of an Idealist by Call Number: E901.1.P69 A3 2019ISBN: 9780062820693Publication Date: 2019-09-10Tracing her distinctly American journey from immigrant to war correspondent to presidential Cabinet official, Samantha Power's acclaimed memoir is a unique blend of suspenseful storytelling, vivid character portraits, and shrewd political insight.
Things We Lost to the Water by Call Number: PS3614.G864 T48 2021ISBN: 9780593317952Publication Date: 2021-05-04A captivating novel about an immigrant Vietnamese family who settles in New Orleans and struggles to remain connected to one another as their lives are inextricably reshaped. Their search for identity--as individuals and as a family--threatens to tear them apart, until disaster strikes the city they now call home and they are suddenly forced to find a new way to come together and honor the ties that bind them.
Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Call Number: PZ7.L778786 Las 2021ISBN: 9780525555254Publication Date: 2021-01-19America in 1954 is not a safe place for two girls to fall in love, especially not in Chinatown. Red-Scare paranoia threatens everyone, including Chinese Americans like Lily. With deportation looming over her father--despite his hard-won citizenship--Lily and Kath risk everything to let their love see the light of day.
Transcendent Kingdom by Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9780525658191Publication Date: 2020-09-01Transcendent Kingdom is a deeply moving portrait of a family of Ghanaian immigrants ravaged by depression and addiction and grief--a novel about faith, science, religion, love. Exquisitely written, emotionally searing, this is an exceptionally powerful follow-up to Gyasi's phenomenal debut.
Journal Articles
- Seeing Immigration and Structural Racism: It’s Where You Put Your Eyes.
- Benson, L. B. (2022). Seeing Immigration and Structural Racism: It’s Where You Put Your Eyes. New York Law School Law Review, 66(2), 277–304.
- Why we dehumanize illegal immigrants: A US mixed-methods study.
- Markowitz, D. M., & Slovic, P. (2021). Why we dehumanize illegal immigrants: A US mixed-methods study. PLoS ONE, 16(10), e0257912.
- The Impact of Immigration Status on the Quality of Life Among Asian Indians in the United States of America.
- Panjwani, S., Manyam, S. B., & Prasath, P. R. (2021). The Impact of Immigration Status on the Quality of Life Among Asian Indians in the United States of America. Journal of Asia Pacific Counseling, 11(2), 109–124. https://doi.org/10.18401/2021.11.2.7
- Who Are "the Immigrants"? Beliefs About Immigrant Populations and Anti‐Immigration Attitudes in the United States and Britain.
- Zhirkov, K. (2021). Who Are “the Immigrants”? Beliefs About Immigrant Populations and Anti‐Immigration Attitudes in the United States and Britain. Social Science Quarterly, 102(1), 228–237. https://doi.org/10.1111/ssqu.12925
Databases
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts and full-text of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowAn index to articles (many full-text, online) in scholarly journals and literary magazines. Provides very good coverage of little magazines and literary reviews and, for 2000-, for scholarly journals in the humanities (history, literature, philosophy, and religion). An index to articles (many full-text, online) in scholarly journals and literary magazines in history, literature, philosophy and religion. Includes coverage of more specialized journals and literary reviews.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowIndexes regional, national, and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts (CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more). Some sources are full-text and some just indexed. Dates of coverage varies by source, but are generally contemporary as opposed to historical.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowEssential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
Websites
- American Immigration CouncilThe American Immigration Council (AIC) is a nonprofit organization committed to promoting laws and policies that reflect the United States' history as a nation that welcomes immigrants. AIC focuses on reasonable legislation, fact-based education, and cultural exchange as avenues toward achieving better immigration policy in the United States.
- Migration Policy InstituteThe Migration Policy Institute (MPI) is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to the study of the movement of people worldwide. MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at the local, national, and international levels and aims for pragmatic responses to the challenges and opportunities that large-scale migration, whether voluntary or forced, presents.
- US Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Refugee ResettlementThe Office of Refugee Resettlement (ORR) is an office of the US Department of Health and Human Services' Administration for Children & Families. The ORR helps refugees navigate the legal and cultural journeys to becoming an American. The ORR website provides fact sheets, program overviews, agency directories, policy papers, government standards guides, grant listings, resource guides, data collections, and an archive of the ORR's newsletters and annual reports.
Subject Headings and Search Terms
Immigrants -- United States
Immigrants -- United States -- History
Immigrants -- United States -- Biography
Immigrants -- United States -- Social conditions -- 21st century
Emigration and immigration -- Economic aspects
Emigration and immigration -- Political aspects
United States -- Emigration and immigration
Videos
- ImmigrationThis video takes a look at immigration, which is the act of moving across borders to settle permanently in a new country.
- Why Can't Congress Agree on Immigration?Here, we have more immigrants than any other country in the world, with more than 40 million people born in another country living in the United States.