Geology & Environmental Earth Science: Reference
Non-Library Reference Materials
- IMA Database of Mineral PropertiesCreated and maintained by the RRUFF Project in partnership with the IMA.
- International Chronostratigraphic ChartThe geologic time scale from the International Commission on Stratigraphy.
- Merck Index OnlineFor over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Now this trusted resource is available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
- MinDatMinerals database with photographs, physical properties, classifications, and crystallography.
- Periodic TableAn interactive periodic table of the elements from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
- Rapid TablesMany different calculators, conversions tools, mathematical formulas and tables.
- Science Direct - Topics IndexUseful look up tool for unfamiliar science topics and terms. Offer different definitions for different disciplinary contexts. Also provides links to relevant book chapters.
- SDBS - Spectral Database for Organic CompoundsA free online resource of spectra for over 33,500 substances. You can search by substance, peaks, molecular weight, etc.
- Table of NuclidesInteractive table of nuclides from Nuclear Data Center at KAERI
- USGSUnited States Geological Survey has a wealth of information, publications, data and maps on many geology topics.
Library Reference Materials
Books
- The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by Volcanoes are unquestionably one of the most spectacular and awe-inspiring features of the physical world. Our paradoxical fascination with them stems from their majestic beauty and powerful, sometimes deadly, destructiveness. Notwithstanding the tremendous advances in volcanology since ancient times, some of the mystery surrounding volcanic eruptions remains today. The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes summarizes our present knowledge of volcanoes; it provides a comprehensive source of information on the causes of volcanic eruptions and both the destructive and beneficial effects. The early chapters focus on the science of volcanism (melting of source rocks, ascent of magma, eruption processes, extraterrestrial volcanism, etc.). Later chapters discuss human interface with volcanoes, including the history of volcanology, geothermal energy resources, interaction with the oceans and atmosphere, health aspects of volcanism, mitigation of volcanic disasters, post-eruption ecology, and the impact of eruptions on organismal biodiversity.Call Number: QE522 .E53 2000ISBN: 9780123859389Publication Date: 2015-05-15
- Encyclopedia of Geochemistry by The Encyclopedia is a complete and authoritative reference work for this rapidly evolving field. Over 300 international scientists, each experts in their specialties, have written over 330 separate topics on different aspects of geochemistry including geochemical thermodynamics and kinetics, isotope and organic geochemistry, meteorites and cosmochemistry, the carbon cycle and climate, trace elements, geochemistry of high and low temperature processes, and ore deposition, to name just a few. The geochemical behavior of the elements is described as is the state of the art in analytical geochemistry. Each topic incorporates cross-referencing to related articles, and also has its own reference list to lead the reader to the essential articles within the published literature. The entries are arranged alphabetically, for easy access, and the subject and author indices are comprehensive and extensive. Geochemistry applies chemical techniques and approaches to understanding the Earth and how it works. It touches upon almost every aspect of earth science, ranging from applied topics such as the search for energy and mineral resources, environmental pollution, and climate change to more basic questions such as the Earth's origin and composition, the origin and evolution of life, rock weathering and metamorphism, and the pattern of ocean and mantle circulation. Geochemistry allows us to assign absolute ages to events in Earth's history, to trace the flow of ocean water both now and in the past, trace sediments into subduction zones and arc volcanoes, and trace petroleum to its source rock and ultimately the environment in which it formed. The earliest of evidence of life is provided by chemical and isotopic traces, not fossils, preserved in rocks. Geochemistry has allowed us to unravel the history of the ice ages and thereby deduce their cause. Geochemistry allows us to determine the swings in Earth's surface temperatures during the ice ages, determine the temperatures and pressures at which rocks have been metamorphosed, and the rates at which ancient magma chambers cooled and crystallized. The field has grown rapidly more sophisticated, in both analytical techniques that can determine elemental concentrations or isotope ratios with exquisite precision and in computational modeling on scales ranging from atomic to planetary.ISBN: 9783319393124Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Databases
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window2 simultaneous users. High quality science requires high quality data. The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is critical in ensuring that researchers, educators, and students have the highest quality data for chemical compounds and physical particles.
- Knovel (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowWhile aimed towards engineers, there is a lot here for geologists and geochemists too. It allows users to perform property searches, unit conversions, and has an interactive equation feature that you can modify preset equations or build your own. It also has some geology e-books, particularly for petroleum geology.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Users must create an account, providing your @miamioh.edu e-mail address, in order to use SciFinderN.
SciFinder-n provides access to journal articles, dissertations, abstracts, and patents in chemistry and biomedicine. Search for literature or for chemical records by research topic, author, chemical substance or reaction, document identifier, and company/organization name.
Also available within SciFinder are these other CAS products: ChemZent, CAS Analytical Methods, and CAS Formulus.
