Geology & Environmental Earth Science: Home
Best Bets
- GeoRef (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Geosciences Institute, this comprehensive geosciences database contains bibliographic records for geosciences literature from around the world. It contains a vast amount of indexed information covering a wide spectrum of geoscience literature. Other records featured within the database include indexed books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations.
- GeoScience World (including GeoRef) This link opens in a new windowGeoScienceWorld, which has GeoRef fully integrated into it, has a lot of content that you won't find in other databases (namely publications from geology societies) with very detailed search options/limiters. Searches can also be confined with a map feature. These search features aren't available in the GeoRef hosted in EBSCO.
- Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowGeobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Databases can be searched together or separate and include: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Web of Science Additional Databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present), BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index (1900-present), Derwent Innovations Index, KCI - Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record (1864-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Video Tutorials
If you need a quick introduction to a database, check out these videos from you librarians at Miami.
- STEM Resources - Video SeriesDatabases covered include: SciFinderN, Knovel, Engineering Village, Web of Science, GeoRef, IEEE, and PubMed.
- Miami University Libraries Instructional VideosAssorted library tutorials, not just database tutorials.
Geology Book Call Numbers
Geology topics are classified with the QE call numbers. Sometimes it's good to browse the shelf if you aren't after a particular book, so here' s guide the QE call numbers.
QE 1-350.62 | General Geology
QE 351-399.2 | Mineralogy
QE 420-499 | Petrology
QE 500-639.5 | Dynamic and Structural Geology (including volcanoes and earthquakes)
QE 640-699 | Stratigraphy
QE 701-760 | Paleontology
QE 760.8-899.2 | Paleozoology
QE 901-996.5 | Paleobotany
It might also be beneficial to browse other subjects with different call numbers of potential interest. These are broad ranges of topics but for more details, please check out PDF of the Library of Congress' guide to science call numbers.
