Geology & Environmental Earth Science: Research Articles and Journals

Library Databases

We subscribe to many databases that might be useful for your research.

If you are studying geochemistry, SciFinder, a chemistry database, might also be useful.

AAPG Datapages This link opens in a new window
Serving the needs of petroleum geology professionals and students, AAPG Datapages provides access to articles, book chapters, and conference proceedings from AAPG, SEPM and about 20 other journals and conferences.
Applied Science & Technology with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Applied Science and Technology full-text contains indexing and abstracts for English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983.
Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more—from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories and conference proceedings.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
Subjects include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and environmental technology. This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".
Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Geobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
GeoScience World (including GeoRef) This link opens in a new window
GeoScience World (GSW) works with societies, institutions, and researchers around the world and provides a single source of access to preeminent scholarly journals, e-books. Also included are GeoRef records with specialized and map-based search capabilities and links to curated earth science research around the Web. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text search capabilities for the publications of the Nature Publishing Group ranging from the basic journal Nature to specific titles. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to articles and book chapters, covering the physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Users must create an account, providing your @miamioh.edu e-mail address, in order to use SciFinderN.

SciFinder-n provides access to journal articles, dissertations, abstracts, and patents in chemistry and biomedicine. Search for literature or for chemical records by research topic, author, chemical substance or reaction, document identifier, and company/organization name.

Also available within SciFinder are these other CAS products: ChemZent, CAS Analytical Methods, and CAS Formulus.
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Databases can be searched together or separate and include: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Web of Science Additional Databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present), BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index (1900-present), Derwent Innovations Index, KCI - Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record (1864-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Non-Library Resources

ePIC
Electronic Publication Information Center, is the official repository for publications and presentations of Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research (AWI), a non-profit federally funded research center of Helmholtz Association in Germany
Geologic Field Trip Guidebooks Web Archive
The project aims to preserve web-based geoscience field trip guidebooks — which document local geologic information and are often ephemeral, and only available for a short time — found in the Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database for researchers and scholars within the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation and beyond.
more...less...
The Geologic Field Trip Guidebook Web Archive is an initiative developed by librarians at Columbia University, Dartmouth College, Duke University, and Princeton University, under the auspices of the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation.
USGS Publications Warehouse
The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 160,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.

Librarian

Kristen Adams

Email Me

Contact:

209 King Library

513-529-0506

Subjects: Chemical, Paper, and Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Engineering, Geography, Geology, Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, Physics

How to use Databases

STEM Resource Video Series
Short video demos on using particular databases. Created by Miami Librarians.

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2024 8:56 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/geology
Print Page

Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Geology