GEO 601 - Seminar in Research Techniques: Topic-specific resources

Topic-specific information

The boxes below contain links to databases and other research guides that are likely to be helpful for each of your reported research interests.

Topic: Re-greening informal settlements in urban Ghana

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
Subjects include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and environmental technology. This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".
Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new window
Limited to 1 simultaneous user. A comprehensive index of information by Africans and about Africa. Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism, and much more. Limited full-text.
Sources include book citations, periodicals and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, music recordings, and much more.
Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Geobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Essential database for economics research.
EconLit indexes scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers throughout the field of Economics. Topics covered include economic development, forecasting, history, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, healthcare economics, and international, regional, and urban economics.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Online access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.

The links below are Miami Libraries research guides on particular subjects. They contain lots of links to different types of resources that may be helpful, as well as contact information for the librarians who have expertise in each area.

Topic: Mapping natural resources of Myaamia tribe

Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Geobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
Subjects include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and environmental technology. This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Biological and Agricultural Index Plus is a database of full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from essential biology and agricultural research journals. It is a valuable tool for those studying the agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management and environmental science.
Subjects include: agricultural research, biology, environmental, science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, veterinary medicine, and wildlife management.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews, accessed via Web of Science, combines journal content from Biological Abstracts with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). Specialized indexing helps you discover more accurate, context-sensitive results. Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Topic: Landscape ecology and human-nature relationship in Western US

Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Geobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Databases can be searched together or separate and include: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Web of Science Additional Databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present), BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index (1900-present), Derwent Innovations Index, KCI - Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record (1864-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
Subjects include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and environmental technology. This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".

USGS Publications Warehouse
The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 170,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.

Topic: Malaria risk mapping in Ghana

Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Geobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
Subjects include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and environmental technology. This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".
Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new window
Limited to 1 simultaneous user. A comprehensive index of information by Africans and about Africa. Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism, and much more. Limited full-text.
Sources include book citations, periodicals and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, music recordings, and much more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Databases can be searched together or separate and include: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Web of Science Additional Databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present), BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index (1900-present), Derwent Innovations Index, KCI - Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record (1864-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Topic: Flood vulnerability assessment in Kenya

Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Geobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Africa-wide Information This link opens in a new window
Limited to 1 simultaneous user. A comprehensive index of information by Africans and about Africa. Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism, and much more. Limited full-text.
Sources include book citations, periodicals and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, music recordings, and much more.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
Subjects include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and environmental technology. This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Databases can be searched together or separate and include: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Web of Science Additional Databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present), BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index (1900-present), Derwent Innovations Index, KCI - Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record (1864-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.

Last Updated: Jun 20, 2024 11:26 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/geo601
Print Page