Strategic Communication: Reference

Supporting your research in the field of communication studies. For film and media studies, see our related subject guides (linked below).

Reference Works

Reference works are a good source to go to find out background information on a topic or to look up a quick fact. This page will combine both online and print reference works. Most of the print reference works will be located on the first floor of King.

Online Reference Works

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Communication This link opens in a new window
The study of communication is a multidisciplinary effort to understand the constant, varied, and complex transmission and exchange of information, knowledge, and ideas. The extensive nature of communication means that efforts to study it span multiple epistemologies and methodologies. Also, given the changing media landscape, scholars and professionals must constantly consider new content, technologies, processes and effects, and theories of communication. Oxford Bibliographies in Communication will provide much-needed guidance for students and scholars at every level.
Also, given the changing media landscape, scholars and professionals must constantly consider new content, technologies, processes and effects, and theories of communication. The overlapping domains of communication make it challenging to stay informed about every applicable area. A great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. Oxford Bibliographies in Communication will provide much-needed guidance for students and scholars at every level.

Censorship in America: A Reference Handbook
1999, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Dictionary of the Internet
Terms related to the Web, software technology, jargon, e-commerce, security, and the technical and organizational infrastructure of the Internet.
2003, Oxford Reference Online
Dictionary of Social Sciences
Covers many disciplines (anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism), and defines basic terms, concepts, theories, schools of thought, methodologies, techniques, topics, issues, and controversies.
2002, Oxford Reference Online
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Overview of modes of communication, the media used to communicate, theories of communication and their implications, careers in communications and information, and biographies of notable figures in the field
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
A two-volume set that, in more than 300 entries, offers current descriptions of the theories that explain numerous aspects of communication and present the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
1997, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
A comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion, with articles on theory, history, and practice, with special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication.
2006, Oxford Reference Online
Freedom of Speech: Rights and Liberties under the Law
2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Freedom of the Press: Rights and Liberties under the Law
2004, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
From Talking drums to the Internet: An Encyclopedia of Communications Technology
1997, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
The International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication
The International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication offers a comprehensive collection of entries contributed by international experts on the origin, evolution, and current state of knowledge of all facets of contemporary organizational communication.
more...less...
Represents the definitive international reference resource on a topic of increasing relevance, in a new series of sub-disciplinary international encyclopedias Examines organization communication across a range of contexts, including NGOs, global corporations, community cooperatives, profit and non-profit organizations, formal and informal collectives, virtual work, and more Features topics ranging from leader-follower communication, negotiation and bargaining and organizational culture to the appropriation of communication technologies, emergence of inter-organizational networks, and hidden forms of work and organization Offers an unprecedented level of authority and diverse perspectives, with contributions from leading international experts in their associated fields Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library Awarded 2017 Best Edited Book award by the Organizational Communication Division, National Communication Association
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
The major scholarly encyclopedia covering the social sciences broadly.
26 v., 2001, Elsevier available via ScienceDirect
Media and Politics in America: A Reference Handbook
2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Propaganda and Mass Persuasion: A Historical Encyclopedia, 1500 to the Present
2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Violence and the Media: A Reference Handbook
1996, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center

Communication Theory

Need background information about a Communication Theory? Start here:

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
A two-volume set that, in more than 300 entries, offers current descriptions of the theories that explain numerous aspects of communication and present the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
The major scholarly encyclopedia covering the social sciences broadly.
more...less...
26 v., 2001, Elsevier available via ScienceDirect

Print Reference Works

Print reference books related to the study of Communication are on the first floor of King.

Here are a couple of basic titles that you might find helpful:

Communication Yearbook published by International Communication Association. P87.C5974

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by James Watson and Anne Hill. P87.5 .W38 2006

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory ed. by Karen Foss and Stephen Littlejohn. two volumes. P87.5 .E496 2009

Encyclopedia of Media and Politics by Todd Schaefer. P95.82.U6 E47 2007

Public Relations Handbook by Alison Theaker. HD59 .T474 2008

Last Updated: Jul 24, 2024 10:42 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/communication
Print Page

Subjects: Media, Journalism, and Film, Strategic Communication