Strategic Communication: Find Articles
Supporting your research in the field of communication studies. For film and media studies, see our related subject guides (linked below).
Strategic Communications Articles: Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowOur broadest, most general index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for over 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, and full text for more than 5,300 of these. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- ComAbstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts articles published in 40 primary journals of the communication field. Includes access to ComAnalytics, which provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication (journalism, mass communication, speech, communication studies, media studies, rhetoric, etc.). Coverage varies for each journal, but usually begins in the late 1980s. The citation or abstract may be searched by keyword or phrase. You can also browse a list of keywords. Dates of Coverage: late 1980s-present Updated: Irregularly
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media. Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
- CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new windowOriginal, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Each issue reports in-depth on a single theme in the areas of political and social issues, health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Dates of Coverage: 1991-present Updated: Weekly
- FBIS Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new windowFBIS Daily Reports are full-text, intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, news services, and clandestine broadcasts from 157 countries and occupied territories around the world. Many of these materials are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. Key historical events are accessible directly through pre-defined, hyperlinked collections. The FBIS Daily Reports constitute a one-of-a-kind archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news from 157 different countries, with other countries to be added via content updates. Dates of Coverage: 1974-1996 Updated: Each of the 8 parts of FBIS Daily Reports are updated two months yearly, continuing through 2009.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowEnglish language, full-text news sources, and foreign language news. LexisNexis is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains more than 6,000 sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media. Use the News form to search across large groups of sources such as all English-language news or all U.S. newspapers, or select one of the individual titles included in the drop-down list such as The New York Times. (Many more titles are available on the Sources tab.) Dates of Coverage: Varies for each publication, but earliest is 1980- for The New York Times Updated: Daily
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes research in theoretical and applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, and speech therapy. Indexes research in theoretical and applied linguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, and speech therapy published in scholarly journals, monographs, conference proceedings, and web sites. Besides allowing advanced searching in several fields, LLBA uses a thesaurus of standardized terminology. Dates of coverage: 1973-present
- New York Times Historical This link opens in a new windowFull text of the complete run of the New York Times, 1851-three years ago.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology. Includes or has links to full text. PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations with abstracts for an array of subjects related to psychology including, education, business, medicine, nursing, law, social work, and animal behavior. PsycINFO covers all types of publications including journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, and dissertations. References include material from 45 countries and in several languages. Dates of Coverage: 1967- Updated: Weekly
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowPrimary Source general periodicals. Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes 375 general-interest magazines and periodicals published in the United States. Although some scholarly publications are covered, the main focus of Readers'Guide is popular publications. Dates of Coverage: 1890-1982 Updated: No.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowCurrent and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited.
Advertising and Public Relations Trade Publications
- Advertising Age (Ad Age)Articles on national and international marketing, news about individuals in advertising, statistics on advertising and special reports. Fulltext for Advertising Age is available beginning June 1996
- AdWeekAdweek is a leading trade publication serving the brand marketing industry. First published in 1979, Adweek’s coverage reaches an audience of more than 6 million readers. Access via EBSCO.
- PR Week (US Edition)Launched in 1998, PR Week (US) is a trade publication serving the public relations industry in the United States. Access via EBSCO.
- PR Week (UK Edition)PR Week (UK) is a trade publication serving the public relations industry in the United Kingdom. Access via EBSCO.
Open Access Journals
- IAMCR ListThe International Association for Media and Communication Research maintains a list of titles of open access journals in the field of media and communications.
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.
Journal Titles
- American Communication JournalAmerican Communication Journal welcomes submissions of traditional research articles as well as works showcased in alternative formats. We would like to encourage authors to explore innovative ways that take advantage of the potential of the Web to present their communication studies.
Info about journals
"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?" Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.
Tips:
- Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
- Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
- Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")