Strategic Communication: Find Books
Supporting your research in the field of communication studies. For film and media studies, see our related subject guides (linked below).
Library Catalogs
These tools can be used to locate and access print and ebooks from the Miami Libraries and to request print books from other institutions.
-
Miami University Libraries CatalogStart with the "Books & More" tab to find books that you can check out at Miami University.
-
OhioLINKIf Miami University doesn't own the book you need, you might be able to request it through OhioLINK from a participating library in Ohio.
-
WorldCatIf you can't find a book you need at Miami University or through OhioLINK, check to see what other libraries might have it.
-
Interlibrary LoanYou can then order a copy from that library through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
Featured Books
-
Public Relations: Competencies and Practice (1 simultaneous user)
by
Public Relations: Competencies and Practice focuses on the required competencies expected and applications of public relations into specific sectors of practice. Based on competencies identified by organizations such as the Commission on Public Relations Education and the Public Relations Society of America, Public Relations provides a robust examination of areas such as diversity, leadership, and ethics. Public Relations offers students competency- and practice-focused content from top PR experts and incorporates interviews from professionals in the field to show students how to apply competencies in specific practice sectors.
Call Number: HD59 .P835 2019ISBN: 9781351374507Publication Date: 2019-02-18 -
The Public Relations Handbook
by
The Public Relations Handbook, Fifth Edition provides an overview of the public relations industry. The chapters are united by a set of student friendly features throughout, including clear chapter aims, analytical discussion questions, and key further reading. Featuring contributions from key figures in the PR profession, this edition presents a new chapter on public relations and activism, alongside discussion of key critical themes in public relations research and exploratory case studies on public relations practices in relation to a variety of different institutions. This book is split into four parts exploring key conceptual themes of the context of public relations, strategic public relations, stakeholder public relations, and shaping the future.
Call Number: HD59ISBN: 9781138890954Publication Date: 2016-05-27 -
Primer of Public Relations Research, Third Edition (1 simultaneous user) by Primer of Public Relations Research describes the role of research in planning and evaluating PR campaigns, emphasizing standards-based practice. It presents step-by-step guidelines for using a wide range of qualitative and quantitative methods to track output, outtakes, and outcomes, and shows how to present research findings clearly to clients. New to This Edition: *Chapter on standardization, moving beyond the prior edition's focus on best practices. *Chapter on different types of data sets, with attention to the advantages and disadvantages of using Big Data. *Addresses the strategic use of key performance indicators. *Covers the latest content analysis software. Pedagogical Features: *Each chapter opens with a chapter overview and concludes with review questions. *End-of-chapter practice problems guide readers to implement what they have learned in a PR project. *Appendix provides a dictionary of public relations measurement and research terms.
Call Number: HM1221 .S78 2017ebISBN: 9781462527977Publication Date: 2016-10-10 -
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
by
Call Number: P87.5 .W38 2015ISBN: 9781628921489Publication Date: 2015-10-22 -
Meanings of Audiences: comparative discourses
by
Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | P96.A83 M395 2014ISBN: 0415837308Publication Date: 2013-10-02 -
Media Laws Across the World by
Call Number: K3255ISBN: 9781593328153Publication Date: 2016-01-01*ebook, 1 simultaneous user -
Media Technologies: essays on communication, materiality, and society
by
Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | P96.T42 M43 2014ISBN: 0262525372Publication Date: 2014 -
Saving the Media
by
Call Number: P96.E25 C3413 2016ISBN: 9780674659759Publication Date: 2016-04-04 -
The Social Basis of the Rational Citizen: how political communication in social networks improves civic competence
by
Call Number: King Library (2nd floor) | JA85 .R54 2014ISBN: 0739166301Publication Date: 2013-11-26 -
Theatre and Social Media
by
Call Number: PN1590.S65 L66 2016ISBN: 9781137463708Publication Date: 2015-11-17
Want to Browse?
Sometimes you may just want to browse an area of the library to see what books are available. Books related to the study of Communication are scattered throughout the second floor of King. Remember though that some books might be checked out or will be in our Southwest Ohio Regional Depository.
Here's a breakdown of the areas:
HE8689---Broadcasting (general)
HE8690-8699---Radio
HE8700---Television
HM1206-1220---Communication. Mass media
HM1221-1226---Public relations. Publicity
HM1231---Propaganda
PN1990-1992---Broadcasting
PN1991---Radio
PN1992---Television
PN1993-1999---Motion pictures
PN4001-4389---Oratory. Elocution, etc.