Strategic Communication: Find Data
Supporting your research in the field of communication studies. For film and media studies, see our related subject guides (linked below).
Marketing and Data Resources: Best Bets
Below are some "best bet" tools for locating data related to strategic communications, with an emphasis on the United States. Many of thee tools are also used in marketing. Please see the Marketing Libguide for related resources.
- MRI-Simmons Insights (formerly MediaMark)MRI-Simmons Insights is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. It also is a source of marketshare data. For instructions on logging using this powerful but complex product, see please see this guide by librarian Abi Morgan, which includes several instructional videos.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
NOTE: You will need to create an account to download data. See this tip sheet about how to register:
Has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.). Includes some global coverage. - SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowThis web-based mapping application allows users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
- Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides U.S. and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analyst reports. Previously known as OneSource. 50 simultaneous users.
More Data and Marketing Resources
- Marketline This link opens in a new windowMarketline consists of reports on 10,000 companies in the US and internationally, as well as 2,000 industry reports and in-depth country and city reports. It also includes mergers & acquisitions data.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
- RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new windowAccess to the following handbooks: Business to Business Marketing, Consumer Behavior, Consumer Marketing, Entertainment, Media and Advertising Market Research Handbook, Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook, International Consumer Markets, Leisure Market Research Handbook, Restaurant, Food and Beverage Market Research Handbook, Retail Business Market Research Handbook, Sports Marketing, Travel and Tourism Market Research Handbook.
