Political Science: POL 261
Finding a newspaper for your letter to the editor
Indexes
- Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new windowA database that covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents. Limited full-text.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowGeobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
Think Tanks and Policy Papers
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowOnline access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.
- Find PolicySinge search of 17 leading think tanks publications on foreign policy.
- Policy ArchiveDigital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. Collect sand disseminates summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research. From Center for Government Studies, a non-profit, non-partisan organization.
- Washington information directory a guide to national organizations and government agenciesInformation on more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations
- Harvard University Think Tank SearchSearchable List
- Wango Worldwide NGO DirectoryListing by country
- Urban InstituteGathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government. Studies are free to all.
News Sources
Newspaper Indexes and Lists
You can use some of the links below to find a newspaper to send your editorial to. Wikipedia has a pretty comprehensive list. Remember you are looking for the newspaper, but likely will not be able to search in it. (Some newspapers allow a certain number of free articles). Make sure you choose a newspaper vs TV news, which is also in the mix.
The first two indexes below (Newspaper Source and Nexis Uni) also are good sources. Newspaper Source is particularly good for Ohio newspapers.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowIndexes regional, national, and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts (CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more). Some sources are full-text and some just indexed. Dates of coverage varies by source, but are generally contemporary as opposed to historical.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
This includes full-text coverage of many major U.S. and international newspapers. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals as well as company reports and financial data. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
Individual Titles
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
- Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
Some titles have free access and some have restrictions on the number of free articles. Some of these titles may be indexed in the databases above.
These are focused more on political reporting and analysis
Issues Background
The databases below all contain CRS Reports, but they can be hard to find n the database.
- Nexis Uni-- In the center of the screen, under Guided Search, select publication and enter Congressional Research Service and put keywords to search for in the box Search For Something Specfic
- Hein Online -- Search in the search box for "Congressional Research Service" and then search within the results (arrow icon) by keywords or instead of entering a keywor, look to the facets at the left and look under pathfinder subjects
- Proquest Congressional -- Type "CRS Report" in the search box and add a keyword. Broad words/countries usually work better. Facets to the left will allow you to limit by CRS Reports.
- StatelineProvides nonpartisan reporting and research, advocacy, and technical assistance to help states deliver better results and achieve long-term fiscal health. Some reports as well as news articles.