Political Science: Public Administration
Reference
- Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy.King Reference | JK9 .E526 2008
- Encyclopedia of GovernanceInternet Resource. Miami Only. Click on the link to Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and AdministrationKing Reference | H97 .I574 1998
Organizations/Think Tanks
For longer lists of Organizations and Think Tanks see the following guides:
- Wango: Worldwide NGO DirectoryBrowse by region or search by name, mission and other criteria.
- Washington information directory a guide to national organizations and government agenciesInformation on more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations
City and County Resources
- National League of CitiesAdvocate for cities. Information on city issues.
- Metro TrendsThe Urban Institute's report card and toolkit for researchers, students, journalists, elected officials and the public on the state of metropolitan economies
- State of the Cities Data SystemsThe SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs
Finding Scholarly Articles
These databases do not contain full-text materials, however you can use the "Find It" button to cross-search other library databases for access to their contents.
- Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new windowCovers national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA broad, general index to periodicals, providing abstracts for over 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, and full text for more than 5,300 of these. It covers virtually all academic areas of study.
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window(1951 - ) This database contains over 262,700 records from over 1,000 journals. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database each year.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal and book sources covering economic development, forecasting, history, fiscal theory, finance, international, regional, and urban economics.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete indexes thousands of popular and scholarly business journals, many of which are available in full-text.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSubjects covered include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
Policy Papers
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowPolicyFile provides online access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Offering access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
- Policy ArchiveComprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents from many organizations. Can download documents.
- Rand ReportsRAND is a nonprofit institution. Our research is commissioned by a global clientele that includes government agencies, foundations, and private-sector firms. Many of these reports are publicly available on the website. Miami has older print copies of reports back into the 1970s.
- Center for Strategic and International StudiesCSIS is a bipartisan, nonprofit organization headquartered in Washington, D.C. concerned with bipartisan policy solutions.
Websites
- StatelineProvides nonpartisan reporting and research, advocacy, and technical assistance to help states deliver better results and achieve long-term fiscal health. Some reports as well as news articles.
- American Society for Public AdministrationProfessional association.
- UN Public Administration ProgrammeProfiles for different countries that include discussion of the legal system, local government, ethics, civil service, public sector employment.
- Urban InstituteGathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government. Studies are free to all.
