Political Science: News Sources
The Nature of News Today
We are drowning in a glut of information. Read the news laterally -- that is more than one source reporting on a topic--to help combat bias. True journalists adhere to a code of ethics code of ethics. See if the stories you read hold up to those ethics. Some information that might help you evaluate news stories.
- online vs print vs born digital -- Some news sources have stories only in the print edition or only in the online edition. Some news sources are only digital
- investigative news vs reporting -- reporting is on the scene or more immediate news. Investigative news is more like a research paper
- subscription vs free -- Some stories are behind a pay wall.
Evaluation Tools: Media Bias Chart or Media Bias Chart. Also see AllSides and MediaBiasFactCheck
Newspapers/News Source
- Al Jazeera (English)Al Jazeera English is the 24-hour English-language news and current affairs channel headquartered in Doha, Qatar.
- DW: Deutsche WelleGermany's international broadcaster with content from 32 other countries.
- Cincinnati Business CourierThe latest business news from the Cincinnati Business Courier. This has full access to all 44 other local business journals owned by American City Business Journals. Subscription is provided by Miami's Center for Career Exploration and Success.
- Wall Street JournalMiami University Library pays for a site license, If you are a current student or employee sign up for your personal subscription.
- World Newspapers.comLinks to world newspapers, magazines, and news sites in English, sorted by country and region.
Political News
- National Review Archive Publications This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. Republican/conservative news, commentary, and opinion. 1955-present.
- National Journal This link opens in a new windowChronicle and analysis of politics, public policy, and government. Also includes The Hotline, a daily news briefing on politics and campaigns, Race Tracker, updates on US races, and the Almanac of American Politics, containing profiles of members of Congress and their districts.
- CSPANA complete archive of C-SPAN broadcasts, spanning 1987 to the present day. Users can bookmark, embed, email and share selected videos.
News Agencies
Most countries have a news agency that sources news articles for other newspapers/sources use, for a fee, in their publications. Some important agencies. A list of other countries' news agencies in Wikipedia.
- Agence France PresseAFP is one of the world's three major news agencies, and the only European one.
Indexes with Full Text
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowIndexes regional, national, and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts (CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more). Some sources are full-text and some just indexed. Dates of coverage varies by source, but are generally contemporary as opposed to historical.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
This includes full-text coverage of many major U.S. and international newspapers. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals as well as company reports and financial data. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Database includes citations of some content that the libraries have not purchased.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
- NewsNowRead the latest US headlines, on NewsNow. US news, analysis and opinion from around the world.
- Watching AmericaWatchingAmerica reflects global opinion about the United States, helping Americans and non-Americans alike understand what the world thinks of current issues that involve the U.S.
- FAIR: Fairness and Accuracy in ReportingFAIR, the national media watch group, has been offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986
- Television News ArchiveRecording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968
- C-span Video ArchiveA complete archive of C-SPAN broadcasts, spanning 1987 to the present day. Users can bookmark, embed, email and share selected videos.