Political Science: Polling and Data

Public Opinion Polls/Surveys

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Harris Poll
Pollster.com
Pew Internet & American Life Project
Conduct research on how internet and technology change the American life.
Annenberg Public Policy Center
Data Sets. US focus.
LAPOP & AmericasBarometer
Latin American Public Opinion Project.
Pew Global Attitudes Project - Key Indicators Database
Eurobarometer
Public opinion data from European Commission countries.
European Social Survey (ESS)
Public attitudes data collected from European countries.
Afrobarometer
A comparative series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, markets, and civil society in Africa.
Asian Barometer
Public opinion on political values, democracy, and governance on 13 East Asian countries.
World Public Opinion.org (WPO)
World Value Survey

Summary Data/Statistics

These are websites, electronic resources and databases where you can find local, national or international summary data (statistics) on different subjects. For more information see the Data and Statistics Guide.

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Provide census-like data by state or city.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provide state, regional and national data on labor forces. Also provide some international data.
SourceOECD: Statistics Portal
Search interface for statistics published by Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD). Some sections on this site might not be accessible to MU users due to subscription.
International Monetary Fund Data and Statistics
Search data collected by IMF.
NationMaster
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Part of U.S. Department of Education. NCES collects, analyze and distribute statistical information regarding education.

IMF: International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
Created by International Monetary Fund (IMF). The IFS database contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS country pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, plus Aruba and the Netherland Antilles; major Fund account series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS world tables. Time-series data is available back to 1945 for some countries.
IFS contains country data for most Fund members as well as for Anguilla, Aruba, the Central African Economic Monetary Community, Curacao, the Currency Union of Curacao and Sint Maartan, the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union, the Euro area, Montserrat, the former Netherlands Antilles, the West African Economic Monetary Union, the West Bank and Gaza and some non-sovereign territory entities.

data.gov
Online catalog for publicly accessible federal data including statistics and "raw" data.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Collected from governmental and non-governmental resources. Contains statistics on social, behavioral, economics, government, finance, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, migration, trade and more. Allows for customization of data into tables.

Data Sets

Librarians who specialize in Data

Abi Morgan

Roger Justice

Data Planet This link opens in a new window
A tool for data download and visualization with social science data about U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas from more than 150 different government and non-government sources. It spans topics like employment, crime, religion, and education. The data series are standardized allowing you to easily find, compare, visualize, and export. Included are Data Planet Foundations and the Woods & Poole business module.
ICPSR Direct This link opens in a new window
World's largest archive of computerized social science data at the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Many ICPSR datasets are provided with online analysis tools or with SAS, SPSS and Stata setup files for advanced statistical analysis.

Learn how to use ISCPR. See the subject guide.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.

IPUMS - International
IPUMS-International is an effort to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project is a collaboration of the Minnesota Population Center, national statistical agencies, and international data archives. The data series includes information on a broad range of population characteristics, including fertility, nuptiality, life-course transitions, migration, labor-force participation, occupational structure, education, ethnicity, and more.
UK Data Archive
The largest collection of social science and economic data in the United Kingdom.
UN Data
Created United Nations Statistics Division. A search engine for statistics compiled by United Nations. Provide quick links to different countries' government agencies that collect and disseminate data and statistic
data.gov uk
UK's open government data initiative.

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2024 3:42 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/PSCourseGuides
Print Page

Subjects: Political Science