Political Science: Global Politics

Owned by 61 countries and two intergovernmental institutions, the EBRD invests in private enterprises, usually with commercial partners. Its mandate stipulates that the Bank only works in countries that are committed to democratic principles.

An organization of 185 member countries, united to promote international monetary cooperation and exchange stability, as well as foster economic growth and provide temporary financial assistance at the national level.

Not a bank in the the traditional sense, the World Bank is a source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries. The World Bank involves 185 member countries.

A global international organization that deals with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world's trading nations and ratified in their parliaments.

Responsible for the administration of the dispute settlements provisions of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA).

The United States Institute of Peace is an independent, nonpartisan, national institution established and funded by Congress. Its goals are to help: Prevent and resolve violent international conflicts; Promote post-conflict stability and development; Increase conflict management capacity, tools, and intellectual capital worldwide.

"The database contains the profiles in English and in French of the above mentioned organizations, as well as the contact details of their institutional members. The organizations concerned are contacted directly by the UIA to provide their most recent information, as well as the contact details and profiles of their member associations."

WHO, the United Nations authority for health, provides leadership on global health matters, shapes the health research agenda, sets norms and standards, articulates evidence-based policy options, provides technical support to countries, and monitors health trends.

UNICEF provides assistance to children in developing countries. UNICEF works for the survival, development, and protection of children’s rights.

WIPO is the United Nations agency dedicated to the promotion and stimulation of innovation and creativity through the use of intellectual property (IP).

Provides direct access to official documents reflecting the views of United Nations Member States

The AU is Africa's premier institution and principal organization for the promotion of accelerated socio-economic integration of the continent.

Pan-American organization to promote inter-governmental communication, human rights, democracy, and development.

A global organisation promoting policies for the improvement of the economic and social well-being of people around the world. OECD sets international standards and provides a forum for governments to work together towards solutions to common problems

The EU is an economic and political partnership between 27 European countries formed after World War II for economic cooperation. Today, the EU upholds values of human dignity, freedom, democracy, equality, rule of law, and respect for human rights and has through rule of law fostered peace, stability, and prosperity, helped to raise living standards, and launched a single European currency.

International organization founded to promote cooperation among the independent nations of Africa, rid the continent of the remains of colonization and apartheid, coordinate development, safeguard territorial integrity of Member States, and promote international cooperation within the framework of the UN.

Extensive directory by region.