Masters in Business Management (MSiM): All Business Databases

Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button

When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the Find it button button to cross-search other databases for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.

If the button does NOT lead you to the full- text, you can order the article for FREE through Interlibrary Loan. The article will be emailed to you, usually in just a few days. You can also email ME and I will help you look for it.

Business Databases & Indices

Accounting & Tax This link opens in a new window
This includes accounting standards from FASB, GASB, and IASB along with full-text articles from accounting and business journals.
Standards content includes: Original Pronouncements, Statements, Interpretations, Board Opinions, AICPA Interpretations, Current Text, and EITF Abstracts. There is in-depth coverage of accounting policies, state and national tax legislation, corporate taxation, as well as related accounting topics such as auditing, compensation, pension plans, and financial management.
Associations Unlimited This link opens in a new window
This database contains information about international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations.
Includes the latest editions of Encyclopedia of Associations International Organizations, Encyclopedia of Organizations: National Organizations, Encyclopedia of Associations, Regional, State & Local organizations, and National Directory of Non-Profit Organizations.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new window
Find information on journal acceptance rates and other impact factors, plus submission methods.
Conference Board - Business Knowledge Research This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text research reports from the Conference Board on issues in business management and on U.S. and global economics. Also includes access to annual studies on Top Executive Compensation, Corporate Contributions and Directorship Compensation and Board Practices.
There is also access to executive action series reports, in-depth analysis of critical economic topics, regular forecasts of the U.S. economy, interest rates, and foreign exchange rates, data on business executives' expectations, consumer confidence, consumer internet barometer, country indicators, and help-wanted index and Conference Board of Canada publications. Note this database does NOT include business cycle indicator data, consumer confidence survey data or leading indicators data. These are separate subscriptions.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Essential database for economics research.
EconLit indexes scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers throughout the field of Economics. Topics covered include economic development, forecasting, history, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, healthcare economics, and international, regional, and urban economics.
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories. Information includes regional and country profiles, information on physical and social geography, history, economy, and country and comparative statistics. It also provides directory information for governmental, society, media, and business enterprises.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
This includes full-text coverage of many major U.S. and international newspapers. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals as well as company reports and financial data. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
An extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. It consists of country guides, which include information on business, climate, culture and society, demographics and economics, education, government, health, history, maps, religion, and more.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
This resource provides U.S. and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analyst reports. Previously known as OneSource. 50 simultaneous users.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A resource for full-text industrial market research reports. Reports are available in variety of areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, and more. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.
IMF: International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
Contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries and areas and includes all series appearing on the IFS country pages; exchange rate series for all Fund member countries, major Fund account series; and most other world, area, and country series from the IFS world tables. Time-series data is available back to 1945 for some countries.
IFS contains country data for most Fund members as well as for Anguilla, Aruba, the Central African Economic Monetary Community, Curacao, the Currency Union of Curacao and Sint Maartan, the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union, the Euro area, Montserrat, the former Netherlands Antilles, the West African Economic Monetary Union, the West Bank and Gaza and some non-sovereign territory entities.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
NOTE: When prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR), accessed via Web of Science, provides you with the transparent, publisher-neutral data and statistics you need to make confident decisions in today’s evolving scholarly publishing landscape, whether you’re submitting your first manuscript or managing a portfolio of thousands of publications. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to competitive benchmarking data. This lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&‌B's database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business. Please note, we do not have access to Mergent Intellect.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Marketline consists of reports on 10,000 companies in the US and internationally, as well as 2,000 industry reports and in-depth country and city reports. It also includes mergers & acquisitions data.
MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Catalyst is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using Simmons Insights, see this tip sheet. Use is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the entire collection of Moody's corporate and municipal manuals, in some cases back as far as 1909. It also includes access to the Key Business Ratio archives, going back to 1979. Search by year and industry and business sector. For ratios from the current year, use the Key Business Ratios database.
Search by year and industry and business sector. For ratios from the current year, use the Key Business Ratios database.
Mergent BondViewer This link opens in a new window
Includes U.S. taxable and municipal fixed income and evaluation data. Contains issuer and bond level terms and condition data, U.S. taxable bonds, municipal bonds, and retail notes.
Data is available for over 3 million municipal securities and 320,000 U.S. taxable securities, and provides information on corporate taxable bonds, municipal bonds, corporate bond reports, corporate offering documents, and yields and averages.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
A source for financial data on 15,000 US and 20,000 international publicly held companies. Includes a business description, history, company financials, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock data, as well as historical stock price data. Financial data for the last 15 years is available, as well as the latest 5-10 years of annual reports. Company archives include data on inactive companies back to 1996. Mergent also now has an economic module which contains time series data on 550 U.S. and international economic variables.
Mergent also now has an economic module which contains time series data on 550 U.S. and international economic variables.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
NOTE: You will need to create an account to download data. See this tip sheet about how to register:

Has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.). Includes some global coverage.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

If single sign on fails use this url:
https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://www.nexisuni.com
7/10/2024. NEXIS UNI.
http://www.nexisuni.com IN A-Z taken out
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This is a news database that includes regional business journals, newspapers, newswires, and now blogs, covering all areas of the U.S.
Data Planet This link opens in a new window
A tool for data download and visualization with social science data about U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas from more than 150 different government and non-government sources. It spans topics like employment, crime, religion, and education. The data series are standardized allowing you to easily find, compare, visualize, and export. Included are Data Planet Foundations and the Woods & Poole business module.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
This web-based mapping application allows users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.
Sports Business Research Network This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text articles from 14 sports-business publications, as well as 2,500 + tables covering participation, attendance, consumer expenditures, and market shares for 34 sports and fitness activities. Also features a directory information for amateur and professional sporting organizations, venues, trade associations, etc.
SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new window
SRDS contains advertising rates, circulation data, audience metrics and contact information for print and online trade journals and consumer magazines. Limited information is available for newspapers, out-of-home advertising, online advertising, and international publications. SRDS also provides access to Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions data. This allows you to create reports based on metro areas or zip codes and includes consumer demographic and segmentation information as well as PRIZM data. Limited content from Claritas 360 can be accessed through SRDS..
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
The Value Line Investment Survey's main section, presents full-page, individual stock reports, these include the company's past performance, current status, and outlook, and industry reviews. The Summary &‌ Index section allows the user to locate the latest quarterly and supplementary reports these cite the most recent data on each of the stocks followed.
Finally, the Selection & Opinion is a feature section which gives Value Line's views on the economy and the stock market and on stocks of special interest. It also provides model portfolios for investors with various objectives and a number of economic and stock-market statistics. Historical data to 1997 are also available online.
Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage for 350 trade and industry related periodicals with 600 additional titles indexed.
Wall Street Journal (Factiva) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal from 1979 to present through the Factiva database. To look for specific articles or search on a topic, click on Search at the top of the screen. 4 simultaneous users.
You can browse current WSJ articles by going to Newstand.
Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-18 years ago) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text and full-image articles from the Wall Street Journal 1889-18 years ago. Every issue includes the complete paper, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
WRDS This link opens in a new window
WRDS includes historical financial data from CRSP and COMPUSTAT. COMPUSTAT (from Standard & Poor's) provides current and historical Income Statements, Balance Sheets, Statements of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on more than 24,000 publicly held companies. CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices) maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Enter your miamioh.edu email to receive a one day pass. You will receive an email with a link to access the full database. Provided and managed by the Farmer School of Business.
Additional free data sets include: Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, CBOE Indexes, CISDM, DMEF, Dow Jones, FDIC, Fama French, Momentum, and Liquidity, Federal Reserve Bank Reports, PHLX, Penn World Tables, SEC Disclosure of Order Execution, and TRACE.