Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies: Archives and Primary Sources
Newspapers
Online Reports and Think Tanks
- WomenWatchUnited Nations' Website with news and documents.
- International Center for Research on WomenResearch includes examination of the effects of world problems (poverty, economics, disease, health) on women. See the publications section. Full-text.
- Center For Reproductive RightsFor more than 15 years, the Center for Reproductive Rights has used the law to advance reproductive freedom as a fundamental human right. Contains position papers.
- Wellesly Centers For WomenWork at the Wellesley Centers for Women addresses: the social and economic status of women and girls and the advancement of their human rights both in the United States and around the globe; the education, care, and development of children and youth; and the emotional well-being of families and individuals. Has series of policy papers.
- Institute for Women's Policy ResearchIWPR focuses on issues of poverty and welfare, employment and earnings, work and family issues, health and safety, and women's civic and political participation. At George Washington University. Has series of policy papers.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowOnline access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.
Historical Primary Sources
- Digital Transgender ArchiveNewsletters, photographs, artwork , oral history, posters, leaflets, speeches, and more. From about 2000 to the present.
- Gifts of SpeechWomen's speeches world-wide, 1848-2001.
- Lesbian Herstory ArchivesOral Histories
- LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowOnline resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature This link opens in a new windowThe collection contains fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, brand, person pictured, and photographer/illustrator, as well as document type and document feature.
- LGBTQ+ Rights (part of the Hein Online database)Legal documents and historical interpretation.
