Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies: WMS201 (Countries)
Culture and Country Information
- Europa World YearbookLengthy overview of a country as well as a region. Lots of good data with sources. Connection to government websites.
- Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new windowDiscusses how the government in a particular country operates.
- Constitution ProjectLinks to free sites with constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents.Nations of the world are linked to their constitutional text posted somewhere on the Internet.
- UN Member States: On the RecordProvides direct access to official documents reflecting the views of United Nations Member States
Statistics
- WomenWatchPrimarily Documents.
- World's Women 2010King - Govt & Law UN | HQ1155 .W67 2010
Abstract of Statistics. Issued every 5 years or every 10. - United Nations Statistical DatabaseContains information from all major UN databases.
- WomenStatsAn account is free. Lots of data, including maps.
- World Bank Open DataAccess to the data collected by the World Bank.
Think Tanks and Policy Papers
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowOnline access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.
- ApoliticoCase studies, analysis, news and opinions about innovation in government, used by public servants in 140+ countries. Available to students as a global weekly roundup of government innovation and leadership across all policy areas such as health, economic opportunity, gender, and digital. Navigate to the website or contact your librarian to subscribe.
Organizations
- Global List of Women's OrganisationsCountry by Country list. Mostly addresses. You still must look on the internet for websites of these organizations.
- Activist Web Sites for Women's IssuesAlphabetical list of websites. Site administered by Joan Korenman.
- Feminist.comIn general links to feminist organizations. Probably more United States than international.
- UNESCO Database of NGOs"The database contains the profiles in English and in French of the above mentioned organizations, as well as the contact details of their institutional members. The organizations concerned are contacted directly by the UIA to provide their most recent information, as well as the contact details and profiles of their member associations."
- United Nations iLibrary This link opens in a new windowIndex to digital (full text access) and print resources of the United Nations.
Scholarly Articles
- Gender Studies Databasegender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia....
Coverage: 1972 - - EconLitEconLit indexes scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers throughout the field of Economics. Topics covered include economic development, forecasting, history, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, healthcare economics, and international, regional, and urban economics.
- LGBT Life With Full TextIndexes Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues and topics related to civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. LGBT Life includes archival and current content in the area of LGBT studies and includes some full-text. Coverage: 1953-
Basic Article Search
Newspapers
- Nexis UniProvides access to 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, many include access from same day of publication. Provides news broadcast transcripts. Includes subscription to the New York Times
- Ethnic NewsWatchProvides newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic press.
English and Spanish languages - FactivaProvides business news from all the major US and international newspapers including Barrons and more.
- Mideastwire This link opens in a new windowTranscriptions and summaries of newspapers in the Middle East.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
