Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies: Advanced: Journal Articles
Databases & Indices: Women's Studies
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1972 - Combination of the databases, Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases. Access provided to freely available and full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations, websites and other sources.
- Gender Watch This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1970's - Subjects include: business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Indexed are journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowIndexes Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues and topics related to civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. LGBT Life includes archival and current content in the area of LGBT studies and includes some full-text. Coverage: 1953-
Databases and Indices: Related Disciplines
Because Women's Studies is interdisciplinary, you will find research in many fields and in different indexes. For instance women's image in the media might be in a communication's index, while women's body image may be covered in a psychology or health-related index. Below are a selection. See also the other subject areas, especially, psychology, history, sociology, political science, LGBTQ studies.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowGeneral index to scholarly and popular periodicals
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowConsumer Edition indexes magazine articles on many health topics including medicine, food science and nutrition, child care, sports medicine, and general health. Including publications like American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology. Coverage: 1967 --
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowEconLit indexes scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers throughout the field of Economics. Topics covered include economic development, forecasting, history, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, healthcare economics, and international, regional, and urban economics.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowA good place to start for general articles, magazines, and newspaper articles on environmental issues (1975- )
Bibliographies
- Feminist PeriodicalsJournal that reproduces contents of the major feminist periodicals. Many international and grassroots titles are not indexed in standard sources. Since 1981 in print (King Periodical HQ1101 .F456). Online since 1998.
- Gender InnVery detailed index to monographs (books) from 1950-. Supposedly American and English works, but also other languages included.
- Wisconsin Bibliographies in Women's StudiesResources on issues in Women's Studies. Contains both online and print resources.
- Viva: Women's HistoryViva is a current bibliography of women's and gender history in historical and women's studies journals. Multilingual, 1975-present.
