Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies: WMS201 (Durack)
Using the Catalog To Find Sources
Use the following techniques to
- To find local histories, do a keyword search in the catalog using the name of your city or county or state and the word history
- To find general information about daily life, do a keyword search in the catalog using the place/country and the following words
- history
- social life and customs
- 19th century
- 20th century
- social aspects
- popular culture
- city and town life
- civilization
- social classes
- leisure
- Look for information about specific aspects of life, ie. taverns, transportation, cookery, etc.
Tracing People
- Family SearchLarge system of records about individuals (birth, death, census, and more) about individuals. FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services to learn more about their family history. For over 100 years, FamilySearch has been actively gathering, preserving, and sharing genealogical records worldwide.
- Heritage QuestProvided by Lane Public Library. You will need a library card number to use remotely. Has basic U.S Census materials and many 19c local histories.
- Cyndi's ListA categorized & cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet. Not all resources are free.
- AncestryACCESS IS THROUGH LANE PUBLIC LIBRARY OR PERSONAL SUBSCRIPTION. The foundation of our service is an extensive and unique collection of billions of historical records that we have digitized, indexed and put online since 1997. We have digitized handwritten historical documents, and have established relationships with national, state and local government archives, historical societies, religious institutions and private collectors of historical content around the world.
- FootnoteFootnote helps you find and share historic documents. We are able to bring you many never-before-seen historic documents through our unique partnerships with The National Archives, the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Daily Life
- Daily Life Through HistoryTexts explore the daily life of cultures and countries and cover history and current topics.
- Encyclopedia of Food and CultureAlso in Print. King Reference GT2850 .E53 2003
- Subject Guide To FashionGuide to sources on the history of ashion.
- American DecadesChapters on lifestyles and social trends, fashion, sports, science, etc. Division is by decade. Also available in print: King Reference E169.12 .A419 1994.
- American pop : popular culture decade by decadeKing Reference E169.1 .A4475 2009. Chapters include: advertising, architecture, entertainment, food, travel, visual arts, etc. Only available in print.
- American Popular Culture Through HistorySeries covering much of the 19th and 20th century. Similar to the above sets.
- Encyclopedia of American cultural and intellectual historyBig picture of U. S. cultural thought. King Ref E169.1 .E624 2001.
Newspaper Archives
- Google News Archive SearchSearches a number of sources, including historical newspaper archives digitized by Google through their News Archive Partner Program and online archival materials that have been crawled.
- Chicago Tribune Historical (M. U. only)Full-text image and indexing of the Chicago Tribune. Coverage: 1849-1985. (See America's Newspapers for 1985-Current.)
- Early American NewspapersFull text of more than 1,000 U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- New York Times Historical (M. U. only)Full text of the complete run of the New York Times. Coverage: 1851- three years ago. (Our current subscription is in Lexis-Nexis, which covers June 1, 1980 - current. 1969- May 31, 1980 are abstracts.)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985. (M. U. only)Full-text London Times. Coverage: 1785-1985. (See Lexis-Nexis for July 01, 1985 through current.)
- Washington Post Historical (M. U. only)Full-text image and indexing of the Washington Post. Coverage: 1877-1990 (See America's Newspapers or Lexis-Nexis for 1977- current)
- Cincinnati Newspaper Index (NEWSDEX)Indexes selected articles on local topics from Cincinnati newspapers. Coverage: 19th century-
- Cleveland News IndexIndexes local Cleveland, Ohio news stories, feature articles, and reviews primarily from the The Plain Dealer from 1983-1999. Coverage: 1983-
- Historical Newspapers and Indexes on the InternetList by state of historic newspaper projects and archives of specific newspaper titles.
- Historical Newspapers OnlineList of some of the historic newspapers that are available online. The site is from the University of Pennsylvania and includes subscriptions. We also subscribe to some of them.
- Accessible Archives (M. U. only)Full text of primary historical resources from the 18th and 19th century, including Godey's Lady's Book, the Pennsylvania Gazette, South Carolina Gazette, and a database of 19th century African-American newspapers.
- FBIS Daily Reports (M. U. only)Full-text translations of intercepted and clandestine broadcasts from foreign governments and occupied territories, and official news services. (1974 - 1996)
