Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies: WGS 202 Detloff
Understanding the different purposes of sources will help you use them effectively.
- Academic Books. Generally a longer examination of a topic, research based, and peer reviewed
- Journals. Research studies. Articles will list lots of sources [evidence] and data and contain a substantial bibliography. The articles have been peer reviewed by other scholars researching in similar areas.
- Newspapers. Articles are created by reporters to provide information about current events and issues. Their purpose is to inform their readers. Some, like the New York Times can be heavily researched and look at national issues. Local newspapers respond to local audiences.
- Magazines. Magazines purposes are similar to newspapers. Their audience is the general public. Some magazines contain fall between they provide learned analysis and debate around issues but are not actually research.
- Websites and Organizational Sites. Websites can contain lots of hard to find information. Websites can also purposely or accidentally misinform or have a perspective or an ideology to promote.
NOTE: SOME OF THE BOXES BELOW HAVE TABS. YOU WILL WANT TO LOOK AT THE SOURCES IN BOTH TABS.
ajflaj;sdfadkf;akjsdf;kaj
Lateral reading
Checklists
Finding Journal Articles and Reports
The indexes here lead mostly to research articles. Policy File is an index to policy papers, which are researched reports.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowIndex to academic research on women, gender studies, sexual diversity, gender identity, masculinity, feminism, and LGBTQ issues. 1930-present, although the bulk of the content is 1970s -present.
- Gender Watch This link opens in a new windowMostly full-text database of secondary sources (journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, reports, booklets, and conference proceedings) focusing on gender issues across disciplines and countries.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowArchival and current content in the area of LGBT studies. Includes topics related to civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowOnline access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
This includes full-text coverage of many major U.S. and international newspapers. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals as well as company reports and financial data. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Database includes citations of some content that the libraries have not purchased.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowIndexes regional, national, and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts (CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more). Some sources are full-text and some just indexed. Dates of coverage varies by source, but are generally contemporary as opposed to historical.
- Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
Finding Magazine Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Background and Overviews
- CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new windowReports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowContaining resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis to realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
- Congressional Research Services Reports (Open CRS)The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves as shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS experts assist at every stage of the legislative process — from the early considerations that precede bill drafting, through committee hearings and floor debate, to the oversight of enacted laws and various agency activities.
- CRS:Congressional Research ServiceThe Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves as shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS is Congress’ think tank. The reports are not classified and do not contain individualized advice to any specific member of Congress.The reports are not classified and do not contain individualized advice to any specific member of Congress.
Citing Sources
- Chicago Manual of Style Online (17th & 18th ed.) This link opens in a new windowThe full blown, ultra complete guide.
