Nutrition and Dietetics: KNH 103
On this page...
This page contains helpful information on creating and formatting your references and in-text citations for your recipe analysis assignment. I hope it's useful, but please don't hesitate to contact me if it doesn't quite answer your question or if you'd like some additional help (even if it's not related to this assignment, I'm happy to help)!
Reference Lists and Citations
Your recipe analysis assignment requires you to follow the style guide of the American Psychological Association (APA). The details can be tricky, but this guide should help.
How to format your references
Properly formatting your reference list can be tedious, but it's an important step in your writing process. There are lots of little details you need to be aware of and double-check. Take a look at the examples below.
In-text citations
In-text citations can be weird for people to wrap their heads around, mostly because they will look different depending on how they're used. Generally speaking, they will consist of the author's last name (or screenname, if you're citing a web recipe), the year of publication (or "n.d." if your web recipe doesn't have a date), and the page number of the recipe or quote you're citing (obviously, the page number is omitted for web recipes).
Examples:Jambalaya is a convenient way to use up leftovers, “a life saver the day after a party” (Colquitt, 1933, p. 80). Surprisingly, the German chocolate cake has nothing to do with Germany; it’s named after Samuel German, who created the chocolate bar that went into the original recipe (Medrich, n.d.). The dough used in Pasley’s (1949) recipe “has a bad habit of rising, and then falling, in the oven” (p. 74), necessitating the cookies be decorated in order to hide the wrinkles. |
Excelsior's Online Writing Lab (Excelsior OWL) has some more great examples as well as explanations for how to structure your in-text citations for different scenarios: APA In-Text Citations.
Don't be hesitant to ask me (or another librarian) for help with these! If you're not sure about your formatting, let me know; I'm more than happy to help you out.
Finding cookbooks in Miami's catalog
Subject Headings:
If you are looking for cookbooks, you can simply search the catalog with a subject heading of "cooking". This search will find all the cookbooks in Miami collections. If you are interested in a specific cuisine, you simply add that to the search following a comma. For example, Italian cookbooks can be found using the subject heading "cooking, italian". If you would like something available immediately, use the limiters on the left-hand side of the screen to limit the shelf location to BEST Library. This is necessary because many of our cookbooks are in storage at the Southwest Ohio Regional Depository (SWORD).
Call Numbers and shelf location:
If you would rather browse the collection, the cookbooks are shelved in the call number range TX643 - TX840. That section is in BEST Library, in Laws Hall.
Other useful links
The links below may also prove useful to you, but tread carefully. The first one is link to an online cookbook archive where you may be able to find some interesting recipes. The others contain information about APA style in general, and may have extra information not applicable to your recipe analysis. When in doubt, ask!
- Cookbooks and Home Economics CollectionThe Cookbook and Home Economics Collection includes books from the Young Research Library Department of Special Collections at UCLA, The Bancroft Library at The University of California, Berkeley, and the Prelinger Library. These fascinating books take us back to an America in the early decades of the 20th century covering topics on cookery, textiles, family and home, budgeting, domestic sciences, and many other delightful topics.
- APA at Miami - Citation ResourcesThis guide, created by MU Libraries, goes into more detail about APA style and provides some links to outside resources.
- APA Publication ManualIf you want to consult the full style manual, we have copies in several locations, including King and BEST. Most are library use only though, so plan ahead!
