Skip to Main Content

KNH 409/509 - Nutrition for Sports and Fitness: Home

On this guide...

This guide will provide you with a number of databases and other resources that you can use to find research and product information for your chosen supplement. Some of the databases have weird interfaces different than others you may have used, so don't be afraid to reach out to me if you have questions or get stuck.

You can use these links to jump to the different sections of this page:

Health and sport research

Primary vs. secondary research

Finding Full-text

Best Bets for Health Information

The databases listed below are some recommended options for tracking down resources to use in your review. If you need a refresher on how to best use them, contact me!

Primary vs Secondary Research

You will need to find and cite mostly primary research articles for your paper. Don't forget how to distinguish them from secondary research (and other types of articles).

Primary Research Secondary Research (aka Review article)
Typically follows IMRAD format (Introduction, Materials & Methods, Results, and Discussion) Typically has an introduction; other section headings will vary
Reports on original research or data Summarizes, analyzes, and/or synthesizes original research, but does not report on any new findings

Get to Full Text with Find It!

Most literature indexes do not have the actual journal articles included within them.  Instead, these indexes just contain information about the article, e.g. titles, authors, abstract.

When you find an article of interest in an index, click the "Find It" button by that entry to get to the full text.  If we have a subscription, "Find It" will provide a link to the journal article. (Or if we have the print, it will provide a link to the catalog with the location and call number.)

Find it button

(A few databases, like Academic Search Complete, include full text for some articles. These databases may allow you to search only for articles available in full text, but be aware that you are only searching a small portion of the articles we actually subscribe to.)

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Ginny Boehme

My appointment scheduler is open for you to meet with me virtually. The default platform I use is Zoom, but if you prefer Google Meet or WebEx, that's not a problem at all.


Contact:
202 King Library
513-529-1726