Nutrition and Dietetics: KNH 102
Best Bets for Literature Review
The databases listed below are some recommended options for tracking down resources to use in your assignment. If you need a refresher on how to best use them, contact me!
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE will let you easily search for secondary research articles (look for the "Review" publication type).
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL will let you easily search for secondary research articles (look for the "Review" publication type).
- Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis database does not offer a good option for finding secondary information, but it does contain articles highly relevant to your topics.
Primary vs Secondary Research
Secondary research will likely be more useful to you for this assignment than primary research (if you can find it), because it will give you a broader overview for your chosen controversy. Make sure you know how to distinguish between the two!
| Primary Research | Secondary Research |
|---|---|
| Typically follows IMRAD format (Introduction, Materials & Methods, Results, and Discussion) | Typically has an introduction; other section headings will vary |
| Reports on original research or data | Summarizes, analyzes, and/or synthesizes original research, but does not report on any new findings |
Get to Full Text with Find It!
Most literature indexes do not have the actual journal articles included within them. Instead, these indexes just contain information about the article, e.g. titles, authors, abstract.
When you find an article of interest in an index, click the "Find It" button by that entry to get to the full text. If we have a subscription, "Find It" will provide a link to the journal article. (Or if we have the print, it will provide a link to the catalog with the location and call number.)
(A few databases, like Academic Search Complete, include full text for some articles. These databases may allow you to search only for articles available in full text, but be aware that you are only searching a small portion of the articles we actually subscribe to.)
