KNH 213: Global and Community Nutrition: Home
Find Articles
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is a good source for medical literature. It is especially useful for this course because the limiters on the bottom of the page allow you set age groups, which can be employed to limit your search to your target population.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIf your target population are K-12, many prevention programs are school-based, so searching an education database can be useful.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowIf your target population are K-12, many prevention programs are school-based, so searching an education database can be useful.
- Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Websites for background information
Below are some websites you may find useful when tracking down background research on your chosen topic. Be aware, this is by no means an exhaustive list; use the sites here as a starting point.
- Centers for Disease Control (CDC)The Centers for Disease Control contains a wealth of information. Try using the links towards the bottom of the home page labeled CDC for You to filter the resources by intended audience.
- CDC DNPAO Data and StatisticsThe Centers for Disease Control's Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity and Obesity's data and stats page. There are also national and state-level reports.
- World Health Organization (WHO)WHO is the primary health organization of the United Nations. Try using the navigation bar across the top to find information about your chosen health topic.
- Butler County Data SourcesA page with various sources for stats and data for Butler County, OH.
- Food and Drug AdministrationThe FDA website contains information about drugs, including regulations, clinical trials and lists of recently approved medications.
- drugabuse.govThe website of the National Institute on Drug Abuse, drugabuse.gov provides information on all drugs of abuse. This information is aimed at health professionals as well as the general public. Try using the links across to filter the resources by intended audience.
- National Cancer InstituteThe website for the National Cancer Institute provides a wealth of information about the various forms of cancer, as well as their treatment and prevention.
- HealthfinderConsumer health information from the Department of Health and Human Services.
Finding full text
Most literature indexes do not have the actual journal articles included within them. Instead, these indexes just contain information about the article, e.g. titles, authors, abstract.
When you find an article of interest in an index, click the "Find It" button by that entry to get to the full text. If we have a subscription, "Find It" will provide a link to the journal article. (Or if we have the print, it will provide a link to the catalog with the location and call number.)
(A few databases, like Academic Search Complete, include full text for some articles. These databases may allow you to search only for articles available in full text, but be aware that you are only searching a small portion of the articles we actually subscribe to.)
