Chemical, Paper & Biomedical Engineering: Writing & Citing
Literature Reviews
Need help getting started with a research project? The guides here are free for anyone to use on their own, however questions are always welcome.
- Engineering - Guide to Literature ReviewsThe purpose of a literature review and how to do one. MS Word file.
- Engineering - Guide to Literature ReviewsThe purpose of a literature review and how to do one. PDF file.
e-books on Writing
The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields by
Helps both engineers and students improve their writing skills by learning to analyze target audience, tone, and purpose in order to effectively write technical documents This book introduces students and practicing engineers to all the components of writing in the workplace. It teaches readers how considerations of audience and purpose govern the structure of their documents within particular work settings. The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields is broken up into two sections: "Writing in Engineering Organizations" and "What Can You Do With Writing?" The first section helps readers approach their writing in a logical and persuasive way as well as analyze their purpose for writing. The second section demonstrates how to distinguish rhetorical situations and the generic forms to inform, train, persuade, and collaborate. The emergence of the global workplace has brought with it an increasingly important role for effective technical communication. Engineers more often need to work in cross-functional teams with people in different disciplines, in different countries, and in different parts of the world. Engineers must know how to communicate in a rapidly evolving global environment, as both practitioners of global English and developers of technical documents. Effective communication is critical in these settings. The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields Addresses the increasing demand for technical writing courses geared toward engineers Allows readers to perfect their writing skills in order to present knowledge and ideas to clients, government, and general public Covers topics most important to the working engineer, and includes sample documents Includes a companion website that offers engineering documents based on real projects The IEEE Guide to Engineering Communication is a handbook developed specifically for engineers and engineering students. Using an argumentation framework, the handbook presents information about forms of engineering communication in a clear and accessible format. This book introduces both forms that are characteristic of the engineering workplace and principles of logic and rhetoric that underlie these forms. As a result, students and practicing engineers can improve their writing in any situation they encounter, because they can use these principles to analyze audience, purpose, tone, and form.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781119070115Publication Date: 2017
A Math-Based Writing System for Engineers by
This book presents the generative rules for formal written communication, in an engineering context, through the lens of mathematics. Aimed at engineering students headed for careers in industry and professionals needing a "just in time" writing resource, this pragmatic text covers all that engineers need to become successful workplace writers, and leaves out all pedagogical piffle they do not. Organized into three levels of skill-specific instruction, A Math-Based Writing System for Engineers: Sentence Algebra & Document Algorithms guides readers through the process of building accurate, precise sentences to structuring efficient, effective reports. The book's indexed design provides convenient access for both selective and comprehensive readers, and is ideal for university students; professionals seeking a thorough, "left -brained" treatment of English grammar and "go to" document structures; and ESL engineers at all levels.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9783030107543Publication Date: 2019
Non-Native English-speaking Engineers' Writing at the Workplace by
Based on 55 semi-structured in-depth interviews, this book investigates 15 high-tech engineering co-op professionals' writing experience in the workplace. It shows how the digital age has had a marked impact on the engineers' methods of communication at work, and how on-the -job writing has affected engineers' technical competence, shaped their professional identities, challenged their views on Chinese and English writing, and hindered their success in the workplace. The book identifies three aspects of writing practice: engineers' linguistic and literacy challenges, the reasons behind these challenges, and coping strategies, which suggest that engineers are underprepared and lack necessary support in the workplace. Lastly, the study shows that engineers need to engage in technical literacy through on-the-job writing so that they can fully deal with workplace discourse and socialize with diverse professional groups. Since the sample group interviewed in this book is engineers who studied at universities in the United States and have a foot in the world of school and work as well as knowledge of both Eastern and Western cultures, the book appeals to teachers, students, engineers and scientists who are interested in scientific and technological writing. It is also valuable for educators who prepare scientists, engineers, and technical communicators for professional roles, as well as for communication practitioners who work with engineers.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9789811519826Publication Date: 2020
A Scientific Approach to Writing for Engineers and Scientists by
A SCIENTIFIC APPROACH TO WRITING Technical ideas may be solid or even groundbreaking, but if these ideas cannot be clearly communicated, reviewers of technical documents--e.g., proposals for research funding, articles submitted to scientific journals, and business plans to commercialize technology--are likely to reject the argument for advancing these ideas. The problem is that many engineers and scientists, entirely comfortable with the logic and principles of mathematics and science, treat writing as if it possesses none of these attributes. The absence of a systematic framework for writing often results in sentences that are difficult to follow or arguments that leave reviewers scratching their heads. This book fixes that problem by presenting a "scientific" approach to writing that mirrors the sensibilities of scientists and engineers, an approach based on an easily-discernable set of principles. Rather than merely stating rules for English grammar and composition, this book explains the reasons behind these rules and shows that good reasons can guide every writing decision. This resource is also well suited for the growing number of scientists and engineers in the U.S. and elsewhere who speak English as a second language, as well as for anyone else who just wants to be understood.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781118886779Publication Date: 2014
Technical Writing by
Engineers and scientists of all types are often required to write reports, summaries, manuals, guides, and so forth. While these individuals certainly have had some sort of English or writing course, it is less likely that they have had any instruction in the special requirements of technical writing. Filling this void, Technical Writing: A Practical Guide for Engineers and Scientists enables readers to write, edit, and publish materials of a technical nature, including books, articles, reports, and electronic media. Written by a renowned engineer and widely published technical author, this guide complements the traditional writer¿s reference manuals and other books on technical writing. It helps readers understand the practical considerations in writing technical content. Drawing on his own work, the author presents many first-hand examples of writing, editing, and publishing technical materials. These examples illustrate how a publication originated as well as various challenges and solutions.
Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9781439820858Publication Date: 2011-07-28
Citation Styles
There are many citation styles out there, so check if there is a particular one you've been asked to use.
Many chemists uses the American Chemical Society (ACS) citation style.
Many chemical engineers use the Chemical Engineering Progress (CEP) Style Guide from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE).
- ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication This link opens in a new windowProvides researchers with advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication. The new Guide covers everything from previous editions of The ACS Style Guide, completely updated and modernized, as well as new chapters covering everything from preprints, open access, machine-readable data, and much more.
- AIChE Guidelines for AuthorsIncludes manuscript writing tips, including outlines, references and captions.
- CPE Reference Style | AIChEShort guide to the reference style including plenty of examples.
Help Centers
- Howe Writing CenterLocated in King Library, the main writing center is available to help students with their writing in a variety of contexts and genres. There is a satellite writing center located in B.E.S.T. Library more specifically for science & technical writing.
- English Language Learner Writing CenterThe mission of the English Language Learner Writing Center is to provide one-on-one consulting to Miami multilingual student writers.
Citation Management Tools
Free, easy-to-use software to help you collect, organize, cite, and share bibliographic information. Download it on your computer and install a browser plugin so you can quickly add citations to your account.
- Citation Managers GuideMore information on citation managers from MU Libraries.
- MendeleyFree software from Elsevier. Plugins for MS Word, but not GoogleDocs.
- ZoteroOpen source software. Plugins for MS Word and GoogleDocs.
