Chemical, Paper & Biomedical Engineering: Research Articles & Journals
General Suggestions
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex is a database, within Engineering Village, that is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world. It provides a truly holistic and global view of peer reviewed and indexed publications.
- Nature This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text search capabilities for the publications of the Nature Publishing Group ranging from the basic journal Nature to specific titles. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Databases can be searched together or separate and include: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Web of Science Additional Databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present), BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index (1900-present), Derwent Innovations Index, KCI - Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record (1864-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Chemical Engineering Suggestions
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new windowA division of the American Chemical Society, ACS Publications supports researchers through journals, e-books, scientific programs, and the news magazine Chemical and Engineering News.
- JoVE Journal: Chemistry This link opens in a new windowThe Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. Filmed at the world’s top scientific institutions, JoVE videos bring to life the intricate details of cutting-edge experiments enabling efficient learning and replication of new research methods and technologies. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Users must create an account, providing your @miamioh.edu e-mail address, in order to use SciFinderN.
SciFinder-n provides access to journal articles, dissertations, abstracts, and patents in chemistry and biomedicine. Search for literature or for chemical records by research topic, author, chemical substance or reaction, document identifier, and company/organization name.
Also available within SciFinder are these other CAS products: ChemZent, CAS Analytical Methods, and CAS Formulus.
Biomedical Engineering Suggestions
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making (e.g., systematic reviews). Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
- JoVE Journal: Biology This link opens in a new windowThe Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. Filmed at the world’s top scientific institutions, JoVE videos bring to life the intricate details of cutting-edge experiments enabling efficient learning and replication of new research methods and technologies. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window120 of today's top journals used by physician assistants, nurses, students, and health professionals, as well as a premier nursing and allied health database.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
Paper Engineering Suggestions
While we don't subscribe to any databases that focus on paper, we do have subscriptions to some paper and pulp journals.
- Pulp & Paper International (Journal)Previously known as just Pulp & Paper. Serves the interests of pulp, paper & paperboard manufacturing industry outside N. America. Includes news, interpretation of trends, semitechnical & technical info. on the industry for executives, management & technical personnel on international scale.
Organizations
These may offer some articles, conference papers, statistics, or other useful information for your research
- Cepi | Confederation of European Paper IndustriesThe European association representing the paper industry (Cepi) is a non-profit-making organisation.
- PaperAgeOriginally founded in 1884 as a paper industry news magazine, PaperAge has evolved into the premier publication for paper industry professionals around the world. Our editorial is primarily focused on pulp and paper manufacturing, paper converting operations, technological developments in papermaking processes and equipment, company and mill profiles, along with exclusive interviews with key industry leaders.
- Paper on Web | ArticlesThis page contains a list of articles on forestry, papermaking, pulping, recycling etc. The full text is not necessarily available here, but it makes for a nice starting place to find articles on these topics.
Librarian
How to use Databases
- STEM Resource Video SeriesShort video demos on using particular databases. Created by Miami Librarians.