Chemical, Paper & Biomedical Engineering: Home
Best Bets
- Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex is a database, within Engineering Village, that is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world. It provides a truly holistic and global view of peer reviewed and indexed publications.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Users must create an account, providing your @miamioh.edu e-mail address, in order to use SciFinderN.
SciFinder-n provides access to journal articles, dissertations, abstracts, and patents in chemistry and biomedicine. Search for literature or for chemical records by research topic, author, chemical substance or reaction, document identifier, and company/organization name.
Also available within SciFinder are these other CAS products: ChemZent, CAS Analytical Methods, and CAS Formulus.
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowCurrent and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited.
Video Tutorials
If you need a quick introduction to a database, check out these videos from you librarians at Miami.
- STEM Resources - Video SeriesDatabases covered include: SciFinderN, Knovel, Engineering Village, Web of Science, GeoRef, IEEE, and PubMed.
- Miami University Libraries Instructional VideosAssorted library tutorials, not just database tutorials.
