COVID-19 updates and resources

Oxford campus materials are available for curbside pickup at King Library. For more information, visit our curbside pickup page.

Also, you can always get in touch with a librarian if you need a particular book, journal, newspaper, or other text from our collection. We may be able to find an electronic version or a suitable alternative.

• If you have print materials (books, journals, newspapers, etc) or a phone charger, calculator, or other small and sturdy piece of equipment, you have number of options regarding returning them:
  1. Drop them off at the book drop on the south side of King Library
  2. Mail to:
     King Circulation
     151 S. Campus Ave
     Oxford, OH 45056
  3. Drop them off at King Library during open hours.
• For laptops, iPads, tablets, cameras, and the like, please drop them off in-person during open hours, or contact LibFines@MiamiOH.edu with questions — please don't send them tumbling through the book drop.

OhioLINK lending of physical materials is scheduled to resume on August 10.

Have questions or need assistance? Get in touch with us.

All electronic resources — journals, databases, eBooks, digital collections, and more — can be accessed from anywhere in the world by using your Miami ID to log in. All links from the Libraries' guides and lists should automatically direct you to the proxy login.

If you happen to find yourself at a resource and are unable to access the materials because you weren't automatically directed through the proxy, simply add https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url= to the beginning of the URL. See more details about using the proxy.

Librarians are available for virtual consultations and support.

Faculty are encouraged to check in with their subject librarian to discuss in-person library visits.

The Libraries have created a comprehensive resource guide for students, faculty, and staff. The guide encompasses:

• finding and accessing free textbooks
• accessing Miami Libraries' eBooks and eJournals
• a collection of open-access journals and repositories
• information on software packages made available for free during the pandemic
• Citation resources to assist you.
• a guide to researching Covid-19 itself: systematic reviews, datasets, research collections, U.S. government resources, WHO resources, market and consumer health databases, etc
• Remote services at your Self Care and Mental Health
• Remote services at your Regional Libraries
• a list of contacts at the Libraries for questions on circulation, accessing documents, consulting with a librarian on research projects, adding digital reserves to Canvas, etc

All electronic resources — journals, databases, eBooks, digital collections, and more — can be accessed from anywhere in the world by using your Miami ID to log in. All links from the Libraries' guides and lists should automatically direct you to the proxy login. If you happen to find yourself at a resource and are unable to access the materials because you weren't automatically directed through the proxy, simply add https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url= to the beginning of the URL. See more details about using the proxy.

The Libraries offer ways to enhance online learning:

• Temporarily expanded access to journals, databases, software, and other resources
• Options for including streaming video in courses
• Electronic reserve requests during remote instruction
• Creating links for off-campus access to library electronic resources
• Linking to library subject and course research guides

Our research and instruction librarians are ready to assist with materials and instruction for your courses! Contact us directly or Ask Us!

In anticipation of possible absences, please use our general email if you do not hear back from your liaison librarian within a business day.

1. Connect students with electronic resources available through the library

The library provides online access to numerous online resources, including electronic books (ebooks), newspaper and journal articles, and streaming films. You can search our collections for works to use as part of online instruction. If you or your students need assistance locating online materials, we invite you to contact your subject specialist or request reference assistance via chat, email, or phone.

2. Share Open Access (OA) works

OA works are articles, books, films, lecture recordings and other learning materials that are digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions. There are a variety of OA repositories you and your students can use to find resources that can be used for instruction and the creation of new scholarship. They include the Directory of Open Access Journals and OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search) a search tool developed by SUNY’s Geneseo's Milne Library that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains over 385,000 records.

3. Direct students to other works made publicly available online

You can also provide students with links to resources made freely and legally available online. This could include linking to news stories, reports, data sets, etc.

4. Make works available under user rights found in U.S. copyright law, such as fair use.

The fair use exception found in Section 107 of U.S. copyright law provides options for making copies of works available for students as part of the educational process. You can learn more about fair use and the four factors involved with making fair use determinations here. Have questions about copyright? Contact MU’s copyright librarian, Carla Myers, at myersc2@miamioh.edu or 513-529-3935.

5. Share public domain works

Works in the public domain are free of copyright protection this includes works whose term of copyright protection has expired and work prepared by an officer or employee of the United States Government as part of that person’s official duties (e.g., reports, photographs, and other resources produced by the CDC, NIH, NASA, etc.). Repositories such as Google Books, the HathiTrust Digital Library, and Project Gutenberg make available millions of books that are in the public domain due to their term of copyright expiring.

The COVID-19 global pandemic represents a massive area of research with impacts in virtually all fields of study. We've put together a collection of resources for those interested in researching COVID-19 and its effects around the world, including:

• Rapid reviews, data, and research collections
• Government resources for consumers
• News, podcasts, and other media
• Peer-reviewed open-access resources
• Consumer health databases (subscription provided by Miami University Libraries)
• Public health resources
• U.S. government resources
• Resources for librarians and health information professionals
• World Health Organization (WHO) resources

Visit the research guide

Questions? Comments? Get in touch with social sciences librarian Anna Liss Jacobsen, who is collecting these resources.