Skip to main content

Faculty Resources: Course Resources

Subject & Course Guides

Librarians have created Subject & Course Guides to provide specific resources for an area of study or for a particular class. Browse the available Subject Guides. We also provide Topic Guides such as Citation, Academic Integrity, Newspapers, and Visual Literacy (Search for guides by type: topic).

Contact your subject librarian if you have suggestions for Subject Guides or would like a Course Guide for your class.

Open Educational Resources

Open Educational Resources (OER) are "teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others."*

OER allow users to:

  • Retain – users have the right to make, archive, and own copies of the content
  • Reuse – content can be reused in its unaltered form
  • Revise – content can be adapted, adjusted, modified, and altered
  • Remix – original or revised content can be combined with other content to create something new
  • Redistribute – copies of the content can be shared with others in its original, revised or remixed form.**

*From The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation
**5 Rs from David Wiley


More information on OER can be found on our Open Educational Resources guide

Off-Campus Access to Library E-Resources

To ensure that students can access library-provided e-resources from both on and off campus, please add the following URL to the front of the link to the resource:

http://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=

For example:

http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.5951/mathteacher.108.5.0376

becomes

http://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/10.5951/mathteacher.108.5.0376

Note: Links copied from the library catalog or generated in an EBSCOhost database (called permalinks) should already have the proxy URL appended.

Download a one-page summary on off-campus access to library resources.

Miami University IT services does maintain a VPN, however, please note that logging in to the VPN does NOT provide off campus access to library e-resources.

Streaming Videos

Is there a video that you would like students to view for your class?
 

Through the Miami University Libraries Streaming Video Reserve (SVR) service, audiovisual works can be made accessible to students and faculty for educational purposes in compliance with U.S. copyright law. Whenever possible, students should be provided with a link to copies of audiovisual works made legally available online. For more information, and to place a request see our streaming video guide. ​

Another streaming option is Kanopy which is a streaming video platform with more than 8,000 films from a variety of collections and producers, including the California Newsreel, Green Planet, PBS, BBC Active, and Stanford Executive Briefings collections.

Please Note: To search for all content available on the Kanopy platform, go to kanopy.com and browse or search by title. Do NOT log in to Kanopy or identify yourself as coming from Miami University. Once you identify your institution, you can only access content already leased by Miami which will show in search results.

As of July 1 2019, the University Libraries lease content from Kanopy on an item-by-item basis. Requests for the Libraries to lease an item can be made on the Kanopy web site or to your subject selector. Because of the costs and limited duration of Kanopy rental agreements, we prioritize content needed by faculty and students for coursework and research purposes. Requests may take several working days to process; please plan accordingly.

Kanopy videos can be embedded in Canvas, watched on tablets/mobile devices, and watched on TV through a variety of services.

Special Collections

One of Miami University’s greatest assets is its extraordinary collection of more than 65,000 rare books, manuscripts, and other primary source materials.  We believe these materials are here to be used, and so we encourage professors in all disciplines to consider including Special Collections in their courses.  Students who visit Special Collections learn to conduct research in an archival environment, and they develop the skills needed to locate, identify, interpret, and think critically about primary source materials such as nineteenth century letters and diaries, early modern printed books and manuscripts, twentieth century political posters, and more.

Class sessions in Special Collections are always adapted to the class’s specific needs. We offer several approaches to instruction based on the instructor’s goals for the course, and we always encourage students to contextualize, investigate, and interact with historical documents.  If you are interested in using Special Collections materials to enhance your class instruction, consider partnering with a Special Collections staff member; we would be happy to help you plan a visit to Special Collections and/or design a learning activity that incorporates our rich collections.

More information can be found on the Walter Havighurst Special Collections and University Archives page.

Video Tutorials

The Libraries offer online Video Tutorials on commonly asked questions.