Skip to Main Content
Electronic Books and Electronic Journals that are Always Free
Open Acccess Books and Journals
- BioMed Central (BMC): collection of peer-reviewed e-journals in science and medicine. Part of Springer/Nature
- DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books): collection of peer-reviewed open access e-books
- DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals): collection of peer-reviewed open access e-journals
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA): collection of cultural heritage resources. Includes photographs, videos, sounds, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, art, government documents
- epubBooks.com: collection of public domain e-books
- Google Books: collection of e-books
- Hathi Trust Digital Library: collection of public domain and in-copyright content from multiple sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and academic library institutions
- Internet Archive: collection of over 20,000,000 downloadable e-books and texts. More available with a free archive.org account. Includes fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts, and academic books
- JSTOR: collection of e-books and e-journals from university and scholarly presses
- Open Access Publishing in European Networks Library (OAPEN): collection of academic e-books, mostly in humanities and social sciences
- Open Book Publishers: collection of e-books and e-textbooks in humanities and social sciences
- Project Muse: collection of e-books and e-journals from university presses and scholarly societies. And more resources temporarily available from these publishers in response to COVID-19
- PLOS (Public Library of Science): collection peer-reviewed e-journals in science and medicine
- Project Gutenberg: collection of classics in literature and more. Note: only includes older works, with expired U.S. copyright
- Sage Open Access Journals: collection of peer-reviewed e-journals
- Standard Ebooks: collection of public domain e-books
Children's Open Access Books and Resources
- American Literature - Short Stories for Children - access to classic stories, fairy-tales, fables, and nursery rhyme e-books for children
- Bluford Audiobooks - access to Young Adult novels set in contemporary urban America. Includes elements of multiple genres
- Brightly Storytime - access to Youtube channel read aloud picture books
- Children's Book Council - access to fun and educational resources, activities, discussion guides, teacher guides, etc. for children of all ages
- DigiLibraries - access to children's classics and more obscure titles. Download e-books
- Epic! - access to a digital library for children age 12 and under. Teachers and librarians can get free accounts
- The Fable Cottage - access to audio or video with text translated into multiple languages
- Global Digital Library - access to open educational reading resources in over 40 languages with focus on underserved population's languages
- HarperKids - access to Youtube channel of Harper Collins Children's e-books
- International Children's Digital Library - access to historical and contemporary international e-books. Collection reflect similarities and differences in various cultures, societies, interests, lifestyles, and priorities of peoples
- Internet Archive Student Library K-12 - access to large collection of K-12 resources. A subdivision of Internet Archive, containing millions of resources
- KidLit TV - access to story time videos with authors as they read aloud their books, drawing tutorials, arts and craft activities, and more
- LibriVox - access to audio books in the public domain
- Project Gutenberg Children's Literature Bookshelf - access to over 60,000 e-books, published 70 or more years ago. Most are classics
- Reach Out & Read - access to resources as a part of national pediatric literacy program that promotes early literacy and school readiness in clinics nationwide
- Rivet - access to 3,500+ e-books across 8 reading levels. Includes web and app availability
- The Spanish Experiment - access to well-known children's stories translated into Spanish and spoken by a native Spanish speaker. Read along in Spanish or English
- Starfall - access to limited number of of beginning readers, especially from Margaret Hillert
- StoryLine Online - access to the SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s award-winning children’s literacy website, Storyline Online, streaming videos featuring celebrated actors reading children’s books alongside creatively produced illustrations
- Storynory - access to audio books of stories. Available as website or podcast
- Story Shares - access to content that is relevant, readable, and engaging for students who read below grade level beyond elementary school. Provides Relevant Reads: a range of books at different reading levels and interest levels. Story Shares generates and distributes new stories aimed at older students who read below grade level, specifically ensuring that the content is interesting at their age, and readable at their level. Includes features to make reading more accessible to students (read-aloud, word look-up, etc.), teacher dashboard/tracking features, and a book-building tool
- Story Time From Space - access to videos of children's e-books read aloud by astronauts on the International Space Station
- U.S.History.org - access to high school textbooks in US History, American Government, and Ancient Civilizations
- Unite for Literacy - access to digital library for preschool and primary learners