French: FRE 301

Historical Contexts

Library Catalog
-Search author name + biography
-Search literary movement
-Search historical period and place

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
It combines biographies from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Dictionary of American Biography, and Directory of American Scholars, with articles from more than 300 magazines, such as American History, The Christian Century, and U.S. News & World Report.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history (excludes the U.S. and Canada)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of full-text scholarly content, academic journals, primary sources, and e-books, across a wide range of subject areas.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
E-books and journals the Libraries have purchased through Project MUSE. The Libraries do not have access to all content available in Project MUSE.
Currently, MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 journal titles and 3,000 book titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Miami University subscribes to the Project Muse Standard Collection of e-journals and owns Project Muse e-books published in 2010, 2011, and 2012.

Library Catalog
Search:
-Author's name + "criticism & interpretation"
-Critical editions of the work

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index is an index to articles in popular and scholarly journals about film and television. The publications indexed include international film journals, popular and trade journals, and reference books, and subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
For reviews see Academic Search Complete or Readers Guide Retrospective; for scholarly articles see also the MLA International Bibliography.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains information on literary figures from all time periods
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on literature from around the world

The New Oxford companion to literature in French
King Reference: PQ41 .N48 1995
Le Robert des grands écrivains de langue française
SW Depository PQ41 .R634 2000
Persée
Open access journals, books, conference proceedings, etc.
Cairn.info
Search in Que Sais-je? / Repères section
Provides a citation - search library catalog for access to articles
Africabib.org
English-language journal articles on Africa
RevEL@Nice
Electronic journals from the University of Nice

Zotero
Use this tool to organize and take notes on the research you find. Then, use the write and cite feature to cite sources as you work on your papers.

MLA Handbook (9th Edition) This link opens in a new window
Online version of the MLA style handbook. Outlines how to document sources and format research papers in the Modern Language Association style, used primarily in the humanities.

Chicago Manual of Style
Online version of the of the Chicago Manual. Outlines how to document sources and format research papers.

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

203 King Library

513-529-0190

Subjects: Area Studies, Asian Studies, Asian-American Studies, Black World Studies, French, German, Global and Intercultural Studies, International Studies, Italian, Languages, Latin American Studies, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Spanish and Portuguese, Western (Individualized Studies)

Subjects: French, Languages