French: FRE 600
Library Resoures
- Library CatalogUse subject headings for a more effective search
Library Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide range of full-text scholarly content, academic journals, primary sources, and e-books, across a wide range of subject areas. Also searches artwork in ARTstor. Collections I-X all campuses. Collection XI Oxford and Middletown campus users only. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowE-books and journals the Libraries have purchased through Project MUSE. The Libraries do not have access to all content available in Project MUSE.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowITER is an extensive database of journals and books pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Included are references to drama, texts and some primary sources. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from prehistory to the present. See America: History and Life for American and Canadian history. 1450 C.E. to the present.
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust is a digital repository of more than 18 million items including books, pamphlets, government documents, and more. Items published before 1927 may be read in full and are available for download. User accounts can be used to create collections of items and to work with analytic tools at the HathiTrust Research Center, which is also supported by the HathiTrust consortium of research libraries.
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new windowNOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited.
InterLibrary Loan
Open Access Sources
- PerseéFrench portal to digitized journals, conference proceedings, series, and books in the humanities and social sciences.
- HALOpen access repository created by Ministry of Higher Education and Research.
- Africabib.orgEnglish-language journal articles on Africa
- OpenEditionRepository of open access content, but it offers additional paid content.
- Cairn.infoRepository of free and paid content.
- DOAJ French Language JournalsFrench-language titles included in the Directory of Open Access Journals.
Other Search Tools
- Google ScholarCheck your sources here. Content includes undergraduate research, anything on .edu domain.
- Bibliography of French LiteratureCitations to French literature research covering 1998-present.
Downloading Zotero
- Zotero GuideLearn more about Zotero
Zotero is a standalone program that works together with a browser extension. You should download and install both before getting started.
1. Go to www.zotero.org.
2. Click on the red button "Download Now".
3. Download Zotero 5.0 (Mac version is shown; it's also available for Windows and Linux) for the standalone program and the Word plugin.
4. Install the Chrome Connector (or Firefox or Safari) for the browser extension.
5. Create a free online account. This creates a space for you on the Zotero server and allows you to add or access your references from any computer through the Zotero interface.
