French: Find Articles

Your Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

203 King Library

513-529-0190

Subjects: Area Studies, Asian Studies, Asian-American Studies, Black World Studies, French, German, Global and Intercultural Studies, International Studies, Italian, Languages, Latin American Studies, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Spanish and Portuguese, Western (Individualized Studies)

Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button

When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.

Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Some full-text.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
An index to articles (many full-text, online) in scholarly journals and literary magazines. Provides very good coverage of little magazines and literary reviews and, for 2000-, for scholarly journals in the humanities (history, literature, philosophy, and religion). An index to articles (many full-text, online) in scholarly journals and literary magazines in history, literature, philosophy and religion. Includes coverage of more specialized journals and literary reviews.
Incorporates coverage formerly provided by the American Humanities Index (published by Whitston, 1975-2005).
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library, the Index Islamicus Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also Muslim areas of Asia and Africa and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Included in the index are journals, conference proceedings, and monographs.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
ITER is an extensive database of journals and books pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Included are references to drama, texts and some primary sources. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index is an index to articles in popular and scholarly journals about film and television. The publications indexed include international film journals, popular and trade journals, and reference books, and subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
For reviews see Academic Search Complete or Readers Guide Retrospective; for scholarly articles see also the MLA International Bibliography.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of full-text scholarly content, academic journals, primary sources, and e-books, across a wide range of subject areas. Also searches artwork in ARTstor. Collections I-X all campuses. Collection XI Oxford and Middletown campus users only. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

How Do I Find Articles?

The Miami University Libraries offer more than 80,000 subscriptions to journal titles, and many more journals are available from other libraries. You just need a finding tool that will help you figure out what articles in what journals are on your subject.

So where are the finding tools?

The Miami University Libraries subscribe to over 300 indexes and research databases (subject list, alphabetical list) that identify articles about specific topics in many different subject areas. These indexes will often link you to online copies of these articles.

Don't know which finding tool to use?

Academic Search Complete is a good starting point for many subjects.

What if the index does not connect to an electronic version of the article?

Some indexes/databases will have a Find It button that may indicate if the Libraries have a hard copy of the journal, or if the Libraries have an electronic version from another e-journal provider. If not, do a Journal Title Search in the Miami University Libraries' catalog to see if a hard copy of the journal is available from one of the Libraries.

But what if the Miami University Libraries don't have the journal you need?

Miami students, faculty and staff may submit an Interlibrary Loan request to obtain a copy of the articles you need from another institution.

Last Updated: Oct 9, 2024 2:03 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/french
Print Page

Subjects: French, Languages