Business: Find Books & Articles
How to Find Books
Use this search box to find books and ebooks.
Library Catalogs
Start your search in the Miami University Libraries' catalog for local availability.
- Miami University Libraries' CatalogMiami's libraries hold over 3.2 million books, 119,000 maps, 97,000 sound recordings, 20,000 journals, 12,000 videos, and nearly three million pieces of microform. To search those materials, use the library catalog.
- OhioLINK Central CatalogOhioLINK is a consortium of public and private universities, community and technical colleges, and the State Library of Ohio. You can request items directly through the catalog. They will typically arrive in 4-5 working days.
- WorldCatSearches the holdings of thousands of libraries in the United States and worldwide. Books can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. In most cases, it will take 8 to 10 days to receive books requested.
How to Find Articles
Use this search box to find articles in Business Source Complete.
Search Tip
To locate an article in a specific journal or to find an article for which you already have a citation, use the E-Journal Finder.
Other Article Databases
- Accounting & Tax This link opens in a new windowThis includes accounting standards from FASB, GASB, and IASB along with full-text articles from accounting and business journals.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
This includes full-text coverage of many major U.S. and international newspapers. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals as well as company reports and financial data. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
Harvard Business Review FAQs
How do I access electronic issues of HBR?
- MU Libraries provides electronic access to HBR from 1922-present through Business Source Complete
- hbr.org offers some articles that are online-only. Visitors usually have a limited number of free articles a month. The library does not have an institutional subscription to hbr.org.
Can I link to HBR articles in my syllabi?
No.
That answer may surprise you. However, at the end of every article you will find language from HBR similar to the following (emphasis added):
MU Libraries does not have a license that would override this copyright statement.
Faculty should not link to HBR articles in their syllabi and should instead visit hbsp.harvard.edu to arrange course readings.
Can I use HBR for individual research?
Yes. Faculty, staff and students may use and link freely to HBR articles as long as it is for individual research.
Unable to print or download an HBR article?
Business Source Complete and Harvard Business Review have an agreement to prevent printing and downloading of 500 Harvard Business Review articles. This is a list known as the HBR 500 that are set by the publisher and may change over time. They are set to be read on-screen only. No current list of the HBR 500 is made available by the vendor or publisher.
If you must have a printed copy of an article, you can see if we have the print issue (see below) to scan/photocopy or place an interlibrary loan request. This is allowed under typical fair use standards for printed materials held by libraries.
How do I access print issues of HBR?
- MU Libraries keeps the current print issue on the first floor of King Library in the lobby area near the leisure reading collection.
- Older print issues from 2021-present can be found in King Periodicals (Ground Floor).
- Additionally, we have historical coverage in print from 1922-2016 at the Southwest Regional Depository. You can request these copies here.
FAQ gratefully adapted from https://infoguides.rit.edu/hbr